Buying new HDD for MacBook, free fall sensor?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Madmic23, Apr 17, 2008.

  1. Madmic23 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #1
    The 120GB HDD on my MacBook seems a bit small to me. I found a 320GB HDD on CanadaRAM.com for $158. Specs are:
    320Gb Samsung 320GB mobile hard drive 5400RPM 8 Mb cache 5400 RPM SATA Internal HD HM320JI

    My only question is, what about the free fall sensor on the MacBook? Is that a feature of the HDD, or of the laptop itself? Should I be looking for a HDD with a freefall sensor, or just go with this 320GB?
     
  2. eman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    In the great white north
    #2
    Make sure if you buy a macbook hard drive that you get a 2.5" SATA hard drive. You should find most of these notebook hard drive have the impact, free fall sensor etc... I like the Western Digitals HD.
     
  3. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #3
    The sudden motion sensor is part of the laptop, not of the hard drive, so don't worry about it, it'll all work out well and you'll have a MacBook with a large hard drive... just be sure you have a way to transfer data (assuming the machine isn't new).
     
  4. Madmic23 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #4
    thanks for the advice. I'm going to order one of these soon from canadaram.com

    Yep, I have an external to transfer all of my data too, no worries there.
     
  5. f1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #5
    I would suggest ordering a hard drive WITHOUT a free fall sensor. There have been reports that certain hard drives with their own free fall sensor interferes with Apple's SMS technology and can cause kernel panics on your computer everytime you move it.
     
  6. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #6
    I threw in a 160GB last year in this Macbook up from the 80GB that was standard. Being a Seagate, it's rather clever in the fact that its a 5400rpm drive but uses the same power as a 4200rpm drive.

    Make sure you format your new Harddrive to GUID Partition Table!
     
  7. JasonGough macrumors regular

    JasonGough

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #7
    great advice on this thread guys,

    for official reading check this out

    seems like all the Apple laptops from the PowerBooks onwards have them built in.

    I've ordered a WD Scorpion Black without the sensor. I opted for the 320Gb 7200Gb, seems to offer better 'workstation' benchmarks than any other drive, so i figure its better for ProTools, Logic and Aperture use :D
     

Share This Page