Buying new Mac Pro: Graphics Card Questions

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pazzo83, Aug 7, 2008.

1. pazzo83 macrumors regular

I know that graphics card questions have been hashed out here ad infinitum, and I've been going through previous threads for the past couple months trying to get a sense of what I'd need. But, I figured I'd go ahead and present my situation and see what y'all thought about what I would need.

I'm deciding between the 8800 GT and the Quadro FX 5600. I'm going to be doing a fair amount of work with GIS and AutoCAD for graduate school (this will be done mainly in Windows, but I wanted to get a Mac because that is what I've been using for the past 3 years and I wanted to be able to run both OS's). I'm also going to be doing web development work, work in Photoshop, work with Google Sketchup, and possible some 3D animation stuff. Most to all of that stuff will be done in Mac OS X. I might do a little gaming as well, but that's not really my big thing.

Thoughts?

2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

Go with the 8800 GT unless you have $2,000 you want to blow.

The Quadro 5600 performs virtually identically to the 8800 GT except in situations that require 3D visualization or the program is written to take advantage of the Quadros.

3. WSU-Architect macrumors member

Being an architect in graduate school, unless you're really rich, the Quadro cards are never worth it. The performance to price ratio just isnt there, and even those programs with codes optimized for the cards, which is very few, don't see a dramatic enough increase in performance to ever justify the cost to the average consumer. I'd actually go with the new ATI card just released. I have an 8800GT, and while it's great enough for gaming and cad, it really blows with Sketchup (i.e. doesnt work) and isnt exactly snappy with photoshop either. Just my two cents, good luck!

4. pazzo83 thread starter macrumors regular

Which ATI card is that?

5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6