Buying new MBP - Wait?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MrAndy1369, Nov 27, 2011.

1. MrAndy1369 Guest

Hey, everyone. I'm a PC guy, so bear with me, because I'm new to the world of Apple. I've grown tired of getting laptops from DELL/HP that are made out of cheap parts and doesn't last for long. I've seen some of my friends' MacBooks, and am seriously considering asking for a MacBook Pro for Christmas... additionally, I can always run Windows using Boot Camp. I also have an iPhone, and the integration would be a winner. I have several questions.

a) Should I wait until they release the next line of MacBook Pros? I heard rumors that they would be releasing a new line that would have a new motherboard (Ivy?), thinner design, and other new features...however, I also heard that the CD/DVD drive may not be included, and that's a feature I NEED. So, wait for the next line (when, anyway, do you think the next line will be released), or just go ahead?

b) If I go ahead, should I bother getting the higher res + antiglare matte? The current, 1 1/2 year old crumbling DELL laptop I have uses a glossy screen, and sometimes the glare bothers my eyes, although the colors are undeniably good. Any noticeable benefits of getting the antiglare, especially considering the high price?

c) Would 4gb of RAM be sufficient? I mostly do Internet browsing, DVD-watching, and light gaming. I would also be using Windows in Boot Camp. Would 8gb be recommended?

Thanks for the suggestions! :)

2. TheJing macrumors 6502a

TheJing

If you want it now, buy it now. Next release will be after March sometime.

3. PS65 macrumors 6502

If you need it now, buy it. If you can wait for the 'rumoured' March update, then wait.

What happens if nothing comes out in March...

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

You're not going to see a revision for a few more months, i.e., spring of 2012. So if you need one now, buy it. If you can wait, then do so

5. Ca$hflow macrumors 6502

Ca$hflow