Buying online vs retail apple store

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by erure, Apr 14, 2010.

1. erure macrumors regular

Hello, this is my first time posting a new thread. I've been searching for answers on the forums since yesterday and haven't found something that answers my questions exactly, so here goes.

I am planning on buying the higher end MacBook Pro 15-inch, but with the antiglare display. The problem is, I've always purchased Macs at retail apple stores and I'm hesitant to buy online. However, it seems that none of the retail apple stores carry antiglare models (some stores did have the 17-inch antiglare model but not 15-inch) and they all tell me that they don't know when they will be in stock. I think it will be faster to buy from the online apple store at this point, but I am paranoid about dead pixels. I've had a dead pixel on an iMac before and I was able to get an exchange without paying the 10% restocking fee, but it was not easy (this was from the retail apple store). I chatted with a representative of the online apple store, and she said that antiglare MacBook Pros count as custom configuration -- this means that I won't be able to exchange or ask for a return unless they are DOA, right? I just feel that the retail apple stores are more lenient with their return/exchange policies based on individual cases compared to the online apple store.