Buying RAM

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sOwL, Nov 27, 2008.

  1. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    That's not the Apple heatsink. You could very well run into trouble with heat.
     
  3. sOwL thread starter macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Nerd Cave
    #4
    yeh its the heatsinks im worried about... could u link me to some ram that could work fine? i cant afford buying apple's, i need a reliable third party solution
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Can anyone afford to buy Apple's, really? :rolleyes:

    OWC is always good. ALWAYS.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/Mac-Pro-Memory

    Click on 667.
     
  5. sOwL thread starter macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Nerd Cave
    #6
  6. sOwL thread starter macrumors 6502

    sOwL

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Nerd Cave
    #7
    wow they do ship to greece and its actually not expensive, i got confused at a price for 2 pieces thought it was for one... thnx i think im ordering now
     
  7. supajay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #8
    About those heatsinks. I recently purchased 16 gigs of ram in 2gig modules. It's got those tiny heatsinks on them... I do however have 4 gig of ram in 512 modules with the original apple heatsinks ( previous owner was rich haha). Should i transfer them? It's a little work, but is it worth it?
     
  8. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    If you believe that you can do it without damaging anything, I would. It shouldn't be too hard; some places sell just the heatsinks for that very purpose.

    Don't do it if you're not comfortable with your abilities.
     
  9. chipchen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    #10
    I wouldn't... RAM that doesn 't have those heatsinks were never designed with Mac Pro's in mind and may not have the strict requirements. Return it.

    RAM is cheap enough nowadays that it's worth buying name brand and trusted RAM instead of hacking old and new ones.
     
  10. supajay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #11
    I've put the 16 gigs in it, it seems to work fine. Is there a command or app to check the temp of the ram modules?

    I've had some mkv video conversions on it for a day and took out the ram. It was warm but not hot. Actually cooler then the old ram came out, probably due to it being 4 times more.

    thx for the advice btw ;)
     
  11. NonBorn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #12
  12. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #13
    istat.
     
  13. supajay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #14
    Thank you all for your help, i'll monitor it for a week or something and let you know how it works out.

    Sorry for going way off topic though :eek:
     

Share This Page