Buying Red Alert 3?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Hugh, May 9, 2009.

  1. Hugh macrumors 6502a

    Hugh

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    #1
    I am thinking about buying Red Alert 3 for the Mac. Has anyone bought the Mac version?

    Also I in the middle of playing Red Alert 2 and CC:3. Should I wait until I finish Red Alert 2.

    Will it run on ATI RadeonHD2600 with 256 MB?

    I know I ask strange questions. :D

    Thanks for the answers! :D

    Hugh
     
  2. masterofbuckets macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #2
    I'd say it should play on medium with couple of settings high. Make sure to play with Shader detail Medium.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. pizz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    #3
    Get Command and Conquer Generals: Zero Hour instead. Probably the best of the series IMO. And you can run it full settings now and it looks great. And you can play online free on gameranger. :apple:
     
  4. Ol3s macrumors regular

    Ol3s

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    L'viv, Ukraine
    #4
    I didn't like RA3, not so much strategy involved
     
  5. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #5
    To answer the questions and not inject opinion...

    Yes it will run on the 2600. I bought it through Gametree and it runs just fine on my 24" iMac.
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    But Gemma Atkinson was looking good; I couldn't help it, but I had to keep re-watching the mission briefings. :p

    And the game—I always liked Red Alert, so I bought this one for Windows when it came out; ran very well; no idea if the Mac version is cider wrapped or an actual port. Either way I'd say it's a good game.
     

Share This Page