Buying rMBP to use for 5-6 years?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Drew84, Oct 24, 2013.

1. Drew84 macrumors newbie

So here's my predicament: my wallet says to go with the cheapest base refurb rMBP that's available, while my gut says to spend a little more for additional value later.

I'm using a 2008 Core 2 Duo MBP (pre-Unibody) now that was sort of the "typical" configuration for the time (dual core, 2 GB RAM), and it ran things very well then, but now struggles just to open Photoshop, switch Firefox tabs, or even play YouTube videos.

Would it be wise to go a little overboard on the configuration on one of these to get some more years out of it (ie 16GB RAM and the 512 SSD upgrade)?
    To be honest, as a journalist by trade, it's rather overkill for most of what I do now (which does include some light photo editing, Lightroom, and a little light video editing), but what about in 5-6 years? Is the base config potent enough to run like a champ for years, or am I going to wish I'd splurged for more when it starts getting long in the tooth?

2. SimonUK5 macrumors 6502

Id suggest sorting out your 2008 MBP before you even think about getting a new one. There is no reason for that machine to not play Youtube....

3. johnnylarue macrumors 6502a

If you intend to keep this machine for the long run, having more RAM than you need at the moment might seem indulgent but it's really the only "future-proofing" you can do up front. It could well be that you'll never use it, but it's impossible to predict what kind of memory requirements the software of 2018 will come with. It's entirely possible that a $200 investment will net your computer an extra year of life. Or it might not! Better safe than sorry?

In any case, the SSD you can upgrade later if you want/need to. I'd prioritize the RAM since you're stuck with whatever you buy up front.

4. pshufd macrumors newbie