Buying sellers iMac.. how do I refurbish it?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Aven SkyGazer, Oct 20, 2009.

  1. Aven SkyGazer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #1
    Hello! I need some expert expertise :D I don't usually use the forums, so please bare :confused: ;) Thank you!!

    Well I'm buying an iMac from a member in my community. I want to make it like new.

    I plan to migrate EVERYTHING from my macbook to the iMac, and I was wondering if Migration will work on a brand new hard drive (not sure how it works!).

    My question is, if I buy a brand new hard drive for the iMac, will I have to purchase the OS X software as well to bring the new hard drive up to par? Or may I just pop the new HD, start migration on my macbooks side, and sit back?

    How do I go about this X)
     
  2. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #2
    If you buy an iMac you should get the operating system disks (2 disks).

    When you put in the new HD, you will have to first install the OS and iLife before you can migrate your stuff from your older machine. New HDs have no OS on them and may need to be formatted as well. Also putting a new HD in an iMac is not a simple pop open the cabinet and stick in a new HD; it's a bit more complex.
     
  3. Aven SkyGazer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #3
    thanks for the swift reply. So, if the owner doesn't have the Operating System Discs... what to do then if I replace the HD?

    Also, may you please analyze the specs the seller provided me and tell me how old the iMac is? I wonder this because the 20'' iMac on the apple website has different specs than the 20'' the seller is providing. I am under the impression that they were manufactered on different years.

    They read as followed:
    20''inch widescreen active matrix LCD display
    2.4 GHz Intel Core Duo Processor
    6MB shared L2 cache
    1GB of 800 MHz DDR2 SDRAM supports up to 4 GB
    250GB Serial ATA hard drive
    Slot loading Super Drive
    ATI Radeon HD 2400 XT graphics processor with 128MB of GDDR3 memory
    Built in iSight video camera
    Built in 10/100/1000 BASE T ethernet(external DSL and cable modem ready)
    One fire Wire 800 port one FireWire 400 port 3 high speed USB 2.09 port 2 high speed USP 2.0 ports on keyboard
    Built in AirPort Extreme wireless networking (802.11n) and bluetooth 2.1 + EDR

    Thanks a bunch!
     
  4. ADent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #4
    Look at everymac for a listing of iMacs - http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/index-imac.html . I see 6 different alumimum 20" iMacs.

    You can buy a copy of Snow Leopard for $29 - but it does not come with iLife. For that you need the boxed set which is over $100. So make sure you get the disks that came with the machine.
     
  5. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #5
    If the seller doesn't have the OS install discs, you should probably ask him/her to cover the cost of buying them new.
     
  6. Aven SkyGazer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #6
  7. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #7
    Considering that you can buy the brand new 21.5" iMac for $1,199, there's no way I would pay $925 for that iMac. Take a look at the specs...the new one blows it out of the water.

    Bryan
     
  8. NeverhadaPC macrumors 6502

    NeverhadaPC

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    #8
    EXACTLY what he said. That is why iMac make for poor re-sellers. They are just so cheap to start out with that reselling you take a HUGE hit.

    Pay NO more than 500 for this machine or you might as well go with a new iMac (plus you get new mouse+keyboard!)
     
  9. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #9
    This guy is trying to pull one over one you. He wants to sell you an old machine without the install discs for ~$200 less than a brand new one with a better, larger display and better specs across the board.

    Dump this idea and go buy a new iMac.
     
  10. Aven SkyGazer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #10
    The seller has recovered the original discs, as well as the box it came with. She is also going to sell it with the mighty mouse and alum keyboard.

    If I mention to her that Apple has just put out a new iMac a few days ago, what would a new, reasonable price be? I'm thinking $525..?

    And just as a sub question, may I connect my alum MB up to the iMac and use it successfully as a display? If so, may anyone link the cable I need?

    Thanks again for the feedback
     
  11. american me macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #11
    You can only do this on the newest 27" iMac that was just released. No other iMac has this ability.

    Also echoing the other sentiments, do not pay any more than the 500-600 dollar range.
     
  12. Aven SkyGazer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #12
    Ah. So, no other iMac can double as an ACD with the exception of the newly released 27''?

    That sorta turns me off haha
     
  13. american me macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #13
    Correct. This is another major reason as to why you shouldn't pay so much for what you are looking to buy.
     
  14. Techhie macrumors 65816

    Techhie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    The hub of stupidity
    #14
    Is it just me, or is it a real shame that Apple doesn't have a 27" ACD? Not only will any dual-monitor iMac setup look lopsided, but I would gladly buy that display to replace my 24"s, that resolution is a godsend.
     
  15. american me macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #15
    Give them some time, they just overhauled their desktop lineup almost completely.. They are still producing the older style 30" Cinema Display so who knows what they'll release to replace that.
     
  16. Techhie macrumors 65816

    Techhie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    The hub of stupidity
    #16
    Hopefully they won't charge a pointless extra $500 for an LCD panel like with the 24", (currently the reason I'm not sitting in front of one)
     

Share This Page