Buying things with cash

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Simgar988, Sep 24, 2010.

1. Simgar988
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

Simgar988

When I buy something of a larger magnitude, I like to buy it with cash. I like to pay for it upfront, hand the guy over the money and now own that product. I'm a college student and haven't had experiences like buying a house or a nice car, but when I bought my iPad (wifi.. It's sad I have to clarify bc you know why) and my flatscreen tv I always pay cash upfront.

A basal reason is because I don't like owing people things, but the more I got to thinking about it I realized how much it would suck to still be paying off a 1st gen iPad while the second one is on the shelves.

I was curious. What do you guys and gals do, and are there benefits to buying things in payments? Does that typically always include some sort of interest unless otherwise specified?

Just interested in thoughts and discussion!
    Cheers!

2. floyde
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

floyde

When you get older your parents stop giving you money, so sometimes purchasing stuff in payments is the only way to acquire goods without having to go without food :p. Other than than that, it is always better to just pay the full amount once.

3. senseless
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

senseless

Good life plan. I've never financed a car and always bought what I could afford to pay for at the time.

4. iggypod
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

iggypod

I subscribe to this train of thought as well (cash being king).

Financial peace = piece of mind.

5. Rodimus Prime
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

Rodimus Prime

Me personally I charge almost everything to my credit card then pay it off in full at the end of the month.
    It is basically the same thing. I use the CC for the cash back.