buying two iphones

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ryan88, Jun 10, 2009.

1. ryan88 macrumors newbie

hi, im a noob when it comes to iphones, and have a few questions regarding purchasing the new iphone 3GS.

here's my situation. both my wife and myself have "regular" phones that are both eligible for qualified upgrades. im wondering what is the best way to purchase iphones for the both us. att.com, apple.com, in store? i can't seem to figure out upgrading two phones on att.com, so i'm not even sure its possible.

also, if we want to keep the cheapest family rate plan (550 minutes), am i correct in thinking that it will be $59.99 + $30 + $30? no other iphone charges?

thanks in advance for your help!

ryan

2. tayshon macrumors 6502a

tayshon

I think the best thing to do is, to go in-store and buy, don't think you can do family plan on Apple.com. If your pre-order you can get it before the store opens to the public at 7 am

3. mactastic macrumors 68040

mactastic

I'm getting two of them as well. I had to go into the AT&T store to make it happen, they won't do it online at either the AT&T store or the Apple store. Although one AT&T rep that I talked to said that worst case I could order two separate single-user phones and that he could put them onto a single family plan prior to activation. That seemed like more hassle than it was worth though.

As for the plan amount, the brochure I got at the AT&T store made no mention of the 500 minute plan. The cheapest plan they have listed is the 700 minute plan. I'm planning on asking for the 500 minute plan, as that's all we really need; but I'm not sure if that's available for the iPhone or not. You are correct about each phone needing a data plan, however.

4. Redwood macrumors newbie