Buying US iPhone for use in Germany

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by TheJJs, Sep 21, 2015.

  1. TheJJs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #1
    Hi All,

    My wife and I live in Germany and are going home (US) to visit.

    We're going to be buying new iPhones each (6S and 6S+). The savings in the US would amount to 400 USD.

    So we are set on it...except...the data bands are a little confusing to understand.

    If we buy an unlocked phone, I think its the T-Mobile one, will all the phone and data bands (LTE) work in Germany?

    I tried figuring out on this page but I don't know much about it.

    http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/

    http://www.apple.com/de/iphone-6s/specs/

    Anyone know? Much appreciated!

    Cheers,
    The JJs
     
  2. jercdevil macrumors newbie

    jercdevil

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
  3. TheJJs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #3
    Hi jercdevi,

    Thanks for the info but would you know about the LTE bands and if it would work at the maximum speed in Germany?

    Cheers,
    JJ
     
  4. melb00m macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #4
    A word of warning: I'm from Germany and travelled to the US the last three winters in a row. Every single time I came back, customs pulled me out at the airport, searching my baggage and specifically asking whether I bought the new iPhone or iPad.

    One iPhone alone brings you over the allowed limit for custom-free goods you can bring back. If you do not declare the phone and afterpay sales tax at customs, it is a criminal offense.
     
  5. TheJJs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #5
    Thanks for the heads up melb00m! I'll get rid/post the box.

    So you have any ideas about the LTE bands?
     
  6. melb00m macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #6
    Check this page: http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/
    Model A1688 seems to be the one for international markets, you can also buy it in the US.

    Throwing away the box won't help much. If customs check you thoroughly, they can get the information where the phone was sold from the serial number, too.
     
  7. TheJJs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #7
    Thanks melb00m!

    I thought that would be the case but wanted to hear it from someone else!

    Cheers,
    JJ
     

Share This Page