Buying Used Cable Modem: Do They Wear Down?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jason.siegel, Jun 11, 2014.

  1. jason.siegel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    #1
  2. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    That particular Linksys model is old and is not DOCSIS 3 compatible, which many ISPs will require. You should check with your ISP to see if they have a list of models they recommend.
    I would stay with something like this: http://www.amazon.com/ARRIS-Motorola-SB6121-SURFboard-DOCSIS/dp/B004XC6GJ0/
     
  3. jason.siegel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    #3
    Oh, weird. Earlier I thought it was. RCN provides a list of supported modems, and their customer support said while other modems may work, they will be more difficult. None of the modems on the list are DOCSIS 3.0, though. At the same time, they admitted I need 3.0 for higher speeds. Thoughts?
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    I use RCN and have the SB6121. Works fine. You do want a 3.0 modem even if you have the basic tier, because it gives you access to more channels which will make the connection a bit more resilient if your neighborhood has high network traffic.
     
  5. jason.siegel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    #5
    Is there any practical difference between the 6121, 6141, 6180, and 6580?
     
  6. Agent47 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    #6
    In many areas Comcast is not allowing new DOCSIS 2.0 modems to be activated-any new modems must be DOCSIS 3.0. I found this out when lightning destroyed my old SB6151.
     

Share This Page