Buying Window 7 to run Bootcamp, where?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Chiuy, Jun 5, 2011.

1. Chiuy macrumors 6502

Where can I cheaply buy a Window 7 FULL Version to run bootcamp?
    Any suggestion?
    I'm a college student and I'm trying to see if there is an education discount or not.

I saw a Window 7 Professional on the education site for $30, but I assume that is only to upgrade your current Window 7.

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.

2. altecXP macrumors 65816

OEM version on newegg.com

3. Trentolol macrumors member

Trentolol

4. Dark Void macrumors 68030

Dark Void

newegg sells oem home premium copies for $99 and free shipping.

5. awer25 macrumors 65816

awer25

The upgrade for $30 technically works fine - you don't need a full or OEM version. You can install it as a trial (i.e. don't put in a CD key), then install it again to "upgrade". AFAIK, there's no difference in discs between a full and upgrade copy, just a different CD key.

I'm saying this because I'm assuming somewhere you own an old copy of Windows, thereby making you eligible for the upgrade.

6. Sgt93 macrumors 6502

Sgt93

Your school should have a list of online vendors they partner with for the education discount. As long as you have a .edu email, you should be able to get the discount at most discount sites.

7. bpeeps macrumors 68020

bpeeps

If you are a student with a ".edu" email address you can purchase Windows 7 Pro for $29.99 from Microsoft here.

Note that it is the upgrade version and you'll have to install twice to get the upgrade features if you don't own XP or Vista.

8. Azadre macrumors 6502

Install without a cd key entered. Then upgrade on that serial-less installation with your Ultimate Steal cd key.

9. Chiuy thread starter macrumors 6502

So it is possible to get window 7 on booycamp with just the $30 upgraded version? Install it once then put cd serial or what? Still a bit unclear.

10. bpeeps macrumors 68020

bpeeps