Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

oxshannon

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 5, 2012
So I'm totally new to the mac community (got my macbook pro for xmas) and now the semester has started again and Im registered in a first year math course -- introduction to computing with c++. now you guys can probably see where this is going.

basically, I hadone class and my professor gave us a linkto download a c++ compiler for windows, and I emailed him asking about one for Mac, and he told me I would have to search the internet for one as he has no experience with mac. so i did some searching and determined i should download xcode? NOW im still downloading it, but im fairly certain i wont be able to work it. im not a computer programming person, im only taking this course to satisfy my math credit requirements, but i do think it is something i may enjoy once i learn it. im really confused, and my prof wrote the textbook we use himself so i dont really find it to be much help. Honestly, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

oxshannon

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 5, 2012
Technically I dont think it would be considered a textbook, its binded by my university and says "Math 1116 - Introduction to Computing with C++ Lecture Notes". So you're saying I don't need xcode? I'm so confused, I swear I'm not dumb but this topic is so new to me and quite confusing :(

also, would it just be "OS X 10.7 Lion: GCC-10.7.pkg" that I download from that link?

balamw

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
New England
Presuming you are running Lion ;)

It really depends on how the examples are described and set up. If it is really fine tuned for Visual C++ you may find doing it on the Mac more difficult.

B

oxshannon

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 5, 2012
Presuming you are running Lion ;)

B