Cable error.... When unplugged.

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by Iamayevee, Sep 18, 2013.

  1. Iamayevee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    #1
    So this message pops up every minute or so, and my phone is not plugged into anything. I only use genuine Apple cables/accessories to begin with, so I don't know where this is coming from. I tried the usual powering down which didn't work. Any advice is appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Zmanbaseball2 macrumors 68040

    Zmanbaseball2

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #2
    Bring to an apple store or maybe you somehow got a fake one. Did it work with iOS 6? The cable should still work even with the error as I have the same thing happening to me but I know it is a non certified cable that still charges my iPhone 5.
     
  3. Iamayevee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    #3
    I'm using the charger that came with my phone, which I purchased at Apple. I have had no errors until I updated to iOS7.
     
  4. ErikGrim macrumors 68030

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #4
    Old 30 pin connector yeah? Swap the connectors on your phone with some rubbing alcohol. Dust gets in and shortens the circuits leading your phone to believe something's plugged in.
     
  5. Iamayevee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    #5
    I have the iPhone5 ):
     
  6. Zmanbaseball2 macrumors 68040

    Zmanbaseball2

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #6
    Is the cable damaged in anyway. Also somewhere on the cable wire it should say "Designed by Apple in California" I believe to make sure it is authentic.
    Do you have any other device with a lightning port to test your cable out on?
     
  7. Iamayevee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    #7
    It is authentic. And the problem is the phone is not plugged in to begin with -.-
    It seems I am the only one with this problem.
     
  8. Zmanbaseball2 macrumors 68040

    Zmanbaseball2

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #8
    Sorry for not reading properly.
    I have never seen that error come up with out anything being plugged in.
    Maybe air out/ clean the lightning port. That's the only thing I can think of.
    Try a hard reset.
     
  9. Iamayevee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    #9
    I blew into the port as hard as I could and so far no error lol. If it comes up again ill just take it to Apple. Thanks for your help.
     
  10. Zmanbaseball2 macrumors 68040

    Zmanbaseball2

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #10
    Maybe something that was conductive was in the port causing that. I will be really surprised if that worked.
     
  11. Iamayevee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    #11
    So far so good! I am a genius :)
     
  12. Zmanbaseball2 macrumors 68040

    Zmanbaseball2

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #12
    WOW I am really surprised!
     

Share This Page