Cable mis-match between 2011 MacPro 2.8 QCX and Dell 27" U2713HM

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DigitalDiane, Jul 13, 2013.

  1. DigitalDiane macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Location:
    Olympic Peninsula, WA
    #1
    I purchased a 27"Dell U2713HM monitor (to replace my Apple 30" HD Cinema display) and the DVI Cable does not match the plug-in on my 2011 MacPro 2.8 QCX tower.

    My 30" HD display is a few years old and when I upgraded to the MacPro 2.8 I had to get an adapter. Well long story short the adapter went out and since I am self employed I needed a monitor so on the advice of Apple I purchased a 23" Dell S2340M to use while I waited the "6 weeks" for the new adapter to get here from China!

    Now, just a few short months later the replacement adapter went out. So I switched over to the 23" Dell and researched larger Dell monitors. I found that the 27" U2713HM would work, especially for graphic design work, so I ordered it. It arrived today…and the DVI Cable does not match the port in the back of my MacPro. :(

    My questions are: Has anyone else been where I am at now? If so, how did you resolve the problem? Is there a 3rd party cable that has the correct ends? Or, is there an adapter that will work between the two?

    Help! I would really like to keep the 27" Dell because the kind of work that I do I have a bunch of windows open at the same time and 'really' need the bigger monitor.

    My only other option for a larger monitor is an entirely new system with the Thunderbolt display (which does not work with my tower, already checked that out).

    Thank you in advance…
     
  2. displaced macrumors 65816

    displaced

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Gravesend, United Kingdom
    #2
    Hi!

    There are a few varieties of DVI connector - see this diagram.

    If you can identify the type of DVI connector at both ends, then you should be able to pick up a cable -- they're all pretty standard and most are compatible (although dual-link vs single-link might limit the resolution that can be sent to the panel)

    EDIT: Actually, I'm wondering if the adapter you had was indeed a dual-link adapter. Chances are, if you need that adapter for the 30" Apple display, then you'd also need it for the 27" Dell, since it'd probably require dual-link too.
     
  3. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #3
    A dual ink DVI cable is required for both 2560 x 1440 and 2560 x 1600 resolutions.
     
  4. DigitalDiane thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Location:
    Olympic Peninsula, WA
    #4

    Thank you ever so much for your reply. Your response triggered a memory of when I purchased my MacPro and how I needed an Apple adapter for the HD Cinema. (The adapter from China was needed when I upgraded my MacPro to the 2.8 QCX.) Anyway I plugged the Dell dual-link cable into the Apple adapter, plugged that into my MacPro, powered up my computer and 'Ta Dah' it works!!! And my new 27" Dell is running at 2560 x 1440 without having to install any drivers. Worked right out of the box. Hooray! And it's absolutely beautiful!!!

    Again, thank you so much!!!!
     

Share This Page