Cable Modem upgrade... what a difference

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by xlii, Sep 30, 2009.

  1. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #1
    I never thought that my 9 year old shark fin cable modem would be the bottle neck but it was. I just upgraded to a docsis 3.0 and speedtest.net now gives me a download speed of 28-31 Mbps and a upload speed of from 5.5-6.8 Mbps. The old shark fin maxed out at a download speed of 5 Mbps and an upload speed of 1 Mbps.

    Edit: What finally got me off the dime was all these years I've been renting that cable modem. Got a letter from Comcast saying that the rental fee was going up from $3 to $5 dollars a month. So I took the leap and bought a Motorola 6120.
     
  2. bruinsrme macrumors 601

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #2
    does millis have fios or are you on comcast
     
  3. xlii thread starter macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #3
    I have Comcast basic service. I'm paying for I think it's capped at 12 down and 2 up. But reading some of the replies on the amazon website about these docsis 3.0 cable modems... when you plug one into a docsis 3.0 service which comcast now has in Millis a lot of the folks there got the same kind of speed improvement I did even though they are not paying for that kind of speed. BTW the ping was 10ms in the early morning and 17-21 during the busy time of the day testing with speedtest.net.
     
  4. xlii thread starter macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #4
    Millis has Comcast cable tv, internet, and phone.
    Millis also had FIOS Internet and phone... but NO FIOS Cable TV.
     
  5. bruinsrme macrumors 601

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #5
    nice......I am stuck with farter cable in Holden.
    Doubt we will ever see FIOS.
     

Share This Page