Cable to run between MacBook pro and Plasma TV

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by bluewomble88, Feb 3, 2015.

  1. bluewomble88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #1
    Hi

    I do a lot of work on Wordpress whilst using FileZilla and text editors etc. the 13" screen on my MacBook doesn't really cut it so I'm wondering if I could connect it to my 42" TV.

    I know there's a lead for it but I want to make sure the screen isn't simply upscaled onto my TV. What I want is more screen estate to have more programs open at once. Is this possible?

    Thanks.
     
  2. larrysing1963 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    #2
    Well, what you would get on your TV would be a "larger copy" of the same real estate on your MacBook, assuming you are running at 1920x1080, and not "more screen real estate." Your TV is unlikely to be able to go any higher than that.

    What resolution are you running now on your MacBook? What model of MacBook? With these answers, we can get you the best info.
     
  3. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    larrysing1963 is correct. To get more screen real estate, your 42" TV will not cut it. If you want to use a TV to increase your real estate, then you need a 4k TV.
     
  4. Stocks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    #4
    If your television is only a 720p then you will probably be losing screen real estate. If the TV is a 1080p, then you might gain a little bit more room than what your laptop monitor is running.

    More screen real estate is the reason why I'm looking for a 2560X1440 27 inch monitor.
     
  5. dyt1983, Feb 4, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #5
    edit: To remove personally identifying info not relevant to the conversation.
     
  6. larrysing1963 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    #6
    I made an innocent assumption (maybe a wrong one) that the resolution of the MacBook in question was/is 1920x1080.

    So yes, if it is lower, then output to a 1080p TV @ 1920x1080 will indeed give the user "more real estate" as they asked.

    I stand semi-corrected....:)
     
  7. dyt1983, Feb 4, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #7
    edit: To remove personally identifying info not relevant to the conversation.
     
  8. bluewomble88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #8
    My tv is this http://www.amazon.co.uk/Panasonic-TX-P42U30B-42-inch-Widescreen-Freeview/dp/B004OYVBTC

    I have a 2013 retina MacBook pro.
     
  9. dyt1983, Feb 4, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #9
    edit: To remove personally identifying info not relevant to the conversation.
     
  10. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #10
    Plasma TVs use dithering mechanisms extensively so I would expect your computer output to look pretty poor, especially at the viewing distance you'll want to use.

    They're great for video, but really not good at all for monitor purposes.
     
  11. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #11
    Consider the risk of IR/burn in with your plasma. The TV won't be all that great as a monitor for your intended usage anyway for reasons already stated above.
     
  12. bluewomble88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

Share This Page

11 February 3, 2015