Cable TV on my iMac desktop (suggestions needed)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Scott-n-Houston, Aug 26, 2009.

  1. Scott-n-Houston macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Houston (duh)
    #1
    Do you guys have a suggestion for the best piece of hardware to get my cable signal available for viewing on my iMac desktop?

    I've seen a couple of these things in stores. The Coax cable feeds in and it converts to a format for watching on your desktop. I'm wondering how that works with cable, scrambled channels, and/or HD channels.

    Anyone done this?

    (I have a 2.8 Ghz Core 2 Duo, 2 GB Ram, ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro video)
     
  2. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #2
    If you're talking about free to air tv, the elgato eyeTV is hard to beat.
     
  3. Scott-n-Houston thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Houston (duh)
    #3
    Actually, I'm talking about taking the Cable TV I'm paying for and putting that on screen.

    Will it have to come out of the cable box, or can I skip needing a box all together?
     
  4. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #4
    Generally speaking, anything your TV can tune without requiring a cable box, TV tuners for computers can tune too.

    What that ends up meaning for most people is that the cable box is required for the majority of their channels. :(
     
  5. Scott-n-Houston thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Location:
    Houston (duh)
    #6
    Thanks! It appears I'll have to have a box feeding into it in order to get the channels I want.
     

Share This Page