Cache Windows AD credentials on OS X

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mrob44, Apr 15, 2009.

  1. mrob44 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #1
    I'm the Network Admin for my company and our Marketing Director just got a new MB Pro.

    I've used directory services and he can sign in and authenticate with his Windows AD credentials with no issue as well as access all resources.

    Problem is he travels a lot and needs to be able to login off of our internal network. Windows will cache login creds for offline logins. Is there a way to allow this in OS X also?

    Thanks in advance for any help.


    ** I also put this post on the Server and Networking section also, not really knowing which would be more likely to get me an answer...
     
  2. nefan65 macrumors 65816

    nefan65

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #2
    I use an MB in an AD environment, and can logon/logoff with cached credentials all the time. It should happen by default. To make it easier, I'd suggest he uses the same username/password as the AD account.

    Ex: If AD is jsmith/password. Then his username on OSX should match.

    If he uses jsmith/password on AD, and John Smith on OSX, it'll work, but it's cumbersome.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. mrob44 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #3
    I have used Directory Services to join the MBP to the domain, Hence, any user can login to the mac at anytime with their AD credentials. I dont have to create a new account for them on the mac side. The mac authenticates directly to our Windows DC. So, naturally, of course hes using the same credentials as his AD account, it IS the same.

    Forgive me if I'm missing something from your post. But I think we may two different scenarios.
     
  4. js81 macrumors 65816

    js81

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    KY
    #4
    Oh, I hope there's a fix for this - I'm having the same problem RIGHT NOW. (I'm forced to use my OLD PC - a Dell GX270.) I'm one of few Macs in a Windows environment and our wireless is down, so I can't log in AT ALL on my iMac (can't access ethernet, either) since the AD credentials apparently are not cached.
     
  5. mrob44 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #5

    I got an answer on my other post. You need to configure the Advanced Options in your Directory Service for you AD Binding, allowing for Mobile account creation at login.

    Heres a link: http://www.makemacwork.com/bind-to-active-directory.htm

    I've tested and it works!
     
  6. js81 macrumors 65816

    js81

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    KY
    #6
    Thanks! I'll be trying it now... :)
     

Share This Page