Calculator in Notification Centre

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by MarkW19, Apr 20, 2015.

  1. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I've put the calculator in Notification Centre in Yosemite, and I use it regularly throughout the day for my work. It generally works well, but I'd prefer to be able to press 'x' on the keyboard for multiply, rather than '*' (which also requires Shift), which I use a lot. I know this is standard for the calc app as well, but I'm just wondering if someone knows if there's something I can do to change this in NC?

    Thanks in advance for any help.

    Mark
     
  2. dyt1983, Apr 20, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #2
    edit: to remove personally identifying information not relevant to thread.
     
  3. Agent-P macrumors 68030

    Agent-P

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Location:
    The Tri-State Area
    #3
    Just curious, why bother with the NC calculator app? I find using Spotlight is much quicker, plus I never need to take my fingers off the keyboard.
     
  4. tomnavratil macrumors 6502a

    tomnavratil

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Litovel, Czech Republic
    #4
    This. I've been using Spotlight and Alfred for calculations as well as it's definitely more efficient.
     
  5. MarkW19 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #5
    I do use Spotlight for quick sums etc., but when I'm working out quotes and percentages and doing something more long-winded and involved, using the calc app (or in NC) is more suitable...just wish I could change the * usage! I've used the Calc app and also in Dasboard before, but ideally wanted to use it in NC as it's very handy...
     
  6. Agent-P macrumors 68030

    Agent-P

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Location:
    The Tri-State Area
    #6
    Ah, that makes sense. Hopefully you find a way to use x instead of *. Being able to skip the Shift key would make things a tad quicker.
     

Share This Page