Calendar Apps - am I asking too much??

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by tonycooper, Sep 21, 2014.

1. tonycooper macrumors member

Hi all

I am new to the iPhone, and am stuck on trying to find a suitable task list/calendar solution!

I am looking for a task list that reminds me, and that does not disappear when ignored. I would also like the reminders to appear on a calendar, which the Reminders app doesn't seem to do.

I've tried Calendars 5 and Fantastical 2, but they don't seem to do the above.

At the moment I am using the Calendar, but after I receive an alert, the event disappears from the Today drop down.

Does this make sense? Any ideas?

Many thanks

2. sigamy macrumors 65816

I'm not sure if this is what you mean, but you can change the notification type in Settings/Notifications.

Change to Alert, and you will get a modal pop-up that stays on your screen until you click "Close" button. This was all iOS had for years and most folks hated these alerts.

As for to-do items on a calendar...I'm sure there is an app that does that but this is a picky area because many to do list apps follow the GTD (getting things done) methodology. I believe that GTD keeps true calendar "events" and "to do" items as separate things.

That being said, Appigo Todo provides for due date and time on Tasks. And again, you can change the notification to be a pop-up style Alert.

3. Romf macrumors regular

Romf

I don't really know about your first request, because I don't use reminders so much, but I am using Calvetica, and the reminders appear on this calendar.
    From what I remember, reminders without a date and time will appear all the time (on all days), and reminders with a reminder alarm set will appear on that day...

4. digitalfx macrumors 6502a

digitalfx

The only app I found that does this is CalAlarm. Its not the best app, but does repeat alerts until you turn off.

5. victoriani macrumors member