Calibrating display with Spyder 4 Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by reRESERVEDMD, Nov 7, 2012.

1. reRESERVEDMD macrumors member

Hi,

I'm new to display calibration. I've got a retina and a Mac Pro with an LED display. The LED is an eyesore and I've decided to improve it.

Question I got to you is:

What should I set for the white point on the retina? With current lighting condition, it wanted to set it to 5000K, but that was too yellow. When I turned ambient lightning off and used 6500K setting, it appears too blue. Should I go with 5800-6000K? I'm looking for something versatile (low lighting at home, bright at work and Starbucks).

I assume the 2.2 Gamma, Native Brightness, and no ambient light setting is alright?

Thanks,

Paul

2. derbothaus macrumors 601

derbothaus

2.2 Gamma, D6500 White point (Closest to Apple's Native). Calibrate in a black room to minimize the reflections from the glass. Don't trust ambient if it wanted to set at 5000K. It is making corrections for how warm or cool the current room is. I am assuming you will be moving around and lighting will change depending on day, no? LED is usually a greenish cast addition. A little more Red is probably OK. Blue not OK. What SW are you using? The included Spyder 4 stuff I don't have any experience with on quality. I have Spyder 3 and i1 D2. I might suggest getting a demo of ColorEyes Display Pro and running that in Demo for a bit and see what results you get. It is a much much better profiling solution. It costs though. But you can keep using the profiles it creates in demo when demo expires.

3. thekev macrumors 604

thekev