Calibrating the display.. will it save or spend battery life?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by 1060120, Dec 1, 2016.

  1. 1060120 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    #1
    I just calibrated my MacBook's display to look astonishingly great; however my concern is, will this affect my battery life in any considerable way?
    I use it for work and even the tiniest amount does a difference.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    If your calibration resulted in a higher brightness level than you had before, that will consume more power and shorten battery runtime. But otherwise, it would not matter.
     
  3. 1060120 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    #3
    It was almost exactly like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Precursor macrumors 6502a

    Precursor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Location:
    Istanbul
    #4
    oh wow! Please tell how you did the calibration
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Big difference! Did you use a Spyder 3 or what?
     
  6. 1060120 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    #6
    Well, my display came with the standard LCD calibration, so it had like this white hue, you know? So being a retina display Ithouht it had to look better. I looked up in the web and found how to do the expert calibration (pressing Ctrl or option whilst calibrating),

    The picture I posted is an example of what I did, the pic is from the web but looks exactly as my display now.

    I'm sorry, I'm new at Mac, I don't know what Sypder3 is.
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Ahh... gotcha. I was referring to this gadget used to calibrate computer screens.

    41azoejSlbL.jpg
     
  8. 1060120 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    #8

    Ah, looks fancy! No, I just used the advanced tool for calibrating the tool. I wish Ihad one of those but I dno't think I would give it much use.
     

Share This Page