Call duty 2 problem directx 9 in mac bootcamp

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by markim, May 5, 2008.

  1. markim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #1
    hI I have a mac using bootcamp windows xp with intel 945 but when i running the call duty 2 show me the error menssage "directx encountered an unrecover error. check the directx(r), faq for possible solutions." .
    PLEASE somebody can help me?????:(
     
  2. mvzgoth1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #2
    hey man, i dont know if you ever found a solution to your problem. but i found your thread when i was searching for something totally different on google ironically. but i just wanted to tell you that COD 2 is not compatible with that video card and thats why you are getting that error. i know the video card is capable of running half life 2 great!! but its just simply not compatible with COD 2. sorry :(
     
  3. shalafarky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #3
    mvzgoth1 - does that article say anything about CoD4 on NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT? I'm getting same error message & I'm about done with the whole thing... $50 later.
     
  4. mvzgoth1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #4
    ummm a 7300 GT should be able to run COD4 for sure when it comes to compatibility. i imagine the fps is pretty low though. but if you were running it before and then it stops working all of a sudden... you have a different problem. have you messed around with the video/graphic settings in the game itself? i have had that problem before on a few games, and i ended up having to change the settings by opening up a config file in note pad and changing the settings from there to get it to work.

    do other games still work on your pc just fine? if they do then that just proves to us that it is not actually directx causing your problem. from the amount of info i have for your current problem the only thing i could suggest at the moment is to try a reinstall and see if that works. if you want to keep all of your progress, just remember to back up all of your savegame files before you try the reinstall.
     
  5. shalafarky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    #5
    thanks for the additional info - when i gave up trying to run windows via vmware & just booted to the windows drive, i was in business!
     

Share This Page