Call of Duty 2 error "Server is for low ping players only"

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by rkazantsev, Feb 3, 2010.

  1. rkazantsev macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    #1
    What the hell this error messing is driving me crazy. Ok I know what a ping is and there is no way my ping is that high. It varies from server to server Ive seen it as low as 40's and high as 300's but I know it is not my connection since I have a VERY fast connection so why they hell am I getting this message it's driving me crazy. Im guessing its something in a settings some where but where? Here are my spec :mad:

    1. Internet Download (21813 kbps (2726.6 KB/sec transfer rate)
    2. Internet Upload (962 kbps (120.3 KB/sec transfer rate)
    3. CPU (2.53 Ghz Intel Core 2 Due )
    4. Ram (4 GB)
    5. Video (NVIDIA GeForce 9400M 256 MB)
    6. OS (OS X Version 10.6.2)
    7. Router (Time Capsule version 7.4.2)
     
  2. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Two things.

    1. Speed doesn't matter when it comes to ping. My 1.5 mb/s connection gets lower pin than my friends 20 mb/s connection.

    2. Ping depends on where the server is. For me, if the server is in Australia, I get low ping, as low as around 9. If it's in America, it can go up to 300.

    So, find servers near you or dedicated servers hosted by ISP's (in Australia my ISP and others have servers on most games, get crazily low ping on them), and have fun.
     
  3. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #3
    Where are you based and where is the server based? I only have a 1.5mbps connection which gets a ping of 30 in Team Fortress 2 (PC) or 50 in L4D1 and 2 (PC) for servers in my own country. Mainland Europe jumps to 100 ping, America jumps to 300 ping.
     
  4. rkazantsev thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    #4
    Low Ping

    I live in Beverly Hills with normal speed of 20 to 29 Mb/s the problem is when I lived in Sherman Oaks CA which about 7 miles away with a slower computer and slower internet speed at 1.5Mb/s I had no problem connecting to ANY server now 8 out of 10 server I get this message with a fast computer and faster internet. The only thing I can think of is the Apple Time Capsule possibly has something to do with it. Not sure if there is a way of setting it up for DMZ since the setting are not the same as other router.
     
  5. Kaos Theory macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #5
    Apple Time Capsule could be your be your problem, but I've never had any trouble while playing CoD2 and backing up to an external drive. I do know that things such as Software Update can REALLY jack up your ping, though. Also, most servers have ping limits, and the ones you are playing at might just have it set really low. Not likely, but it could be the case. Sometimes I won't be able to join my clan server because I get that same message, but then I refresh and try again, and viola, my ping is 20 and I'm in. You could try checking to make sure you don't have programs running in the background, i.e. Software Update, Safari, etc., and disconnect from Time Machine. Sorry I couldn't be of any more help, hope you get it fixed. :apple:
     
  6. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #6
    You can set your computer to be the Default Host in the AirPort Utility. This bypasses NAT so it's like your computer is connected directly to the modem. I always use this so I don't have trouble with games.
     
  7. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #7
    Network traffic could slow you down, I've never had it affect ping that bad and I only get a 35% signal on my iMac (being so far from the router).
    Is your high ping universal?

    Try http://speedtest.net/ and see what pings you get there. That would help see if the problem is with your network or the distant servers.
     
  8. rkazantsev thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    #8
    Ping at speedtest

    My ping at speedtest.net is ALWAYS in the low 40's. And my connection to the Time Capsule is always FULL bars Im 20 feet away from the Airport and have no cordless phone or microwave that would interfere with signal
     
  9. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    Do you sort servers by ping and join low ping servers? And do you have nothing else on that could slow your internet?
     
  10. rkazantsev thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    #10
    Sorting servers

    I have tried closing every app and restart then just connecting to COD and yes I do sort but lately I only get a hand full of low ping server. Mind you with my old mac and my old building with slower internet i had NEVER seen that message ever.
     
  11. rkazantsev thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    #11
    WhoooHoooo FIXED issue

    Ok after ALOT of reading I found a solution System Preference--> Advance--> DNS--> + and add these to DNS servers 208.67.222.222, 208.67.220.220 click OK then Apply and BINGO problem fixed also my internet that was sluggish is now FLYING
     

Share This Page