Call of Duty 2 framerate problem

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by xxxshooter, Feb 22, 2009.

  1. xxxshooter macrumors newbie

    xxxshooter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #1
    O.k.

    I have a flashed nvidia 7800 gs on my dual 2.5 PMG5. Yet i still get superbly low framerates. Any ideas or tweaks to make it work better?

    On an open gl test at the resolution that i play at (640x480 32bpp 60hz) i result with this:

    [​IMG]

    But in game i result with this....

    [​IMG]

    and this

    [​IMG]

    Any ideas or tweaks?

    Oh yeah, here are the graphic option i have set as...

    [​IMG]

    The textures are set all to low
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
  3. xxxshooter thread starter macrumors newbie

    xxxshooter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    so single player is fine?? thats odd, multiplayer is normally quicker then single player from my experience on PC..
     
  5. xxxshooter thread starter macrumors newbie

    xxxshooter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #5
    idk... im usually able to run SP at either a higher resolution or better textures than multiplayer... :-(
     
  6. jakeguy99 macrumors regular

    jakeguy99

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    #6
    Id tweak the settings to be a bit higher, sometimes games are weird like that and run worse while under lower settings. Also make sure your max fps is set to something reasonable like 50 or even 35. test a few things out and post back what the results are. (also keep in mind there have been many posts on the poor performance that cod 2 has had on the macs, it is no secret).
     
  7. xxxshooter thread starter macrumors newbie

    xxxshooter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #7
    ok... so i switched to mac os 10.4 and i'm getting 50 fps at 1680x1050...

    so it is the OS. Not the game!
     
  8. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    maybe your version of cod is only PPC, it must be running under Rosetta in 10.5...thus the slowdown
     
  9. xxxshooter thread starter macrumors newbie

    xxxshooter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #9
    hmm... i think all of the COD2's were universal... idk...

    o well... im happier now lol
     
  10. rj-300zx macrumors regular

    rj-300zx

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #10
    nope PPC only, and at first this confused me cause when I went to leopard It didnt have a hit on performance till I realized that my machine is PPC thus no roseta. Glad it worked out for you though :D
     
  11. xxxshooter thread starter macrumors newbie

    xxxshooter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #11
    .... but i have a powermac g5... thus PPC...

    what?

    *confused*
     

Share This Page