Call of Duty 2 problems with SR macbook pro

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by uicandrew, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. uicandrew macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #1
    hey guys. i have the 17" hi res SR macbook pro.

    i tried playing COD2 in windows using bootcamp.

    the game installs fine, but when i play it, only the compass and objectives show up but the rest of the screen is completely grey (like the "start up" screen when your mac first turns on. i heard the voices, and i am able to move around, but the screen is grey. (i even tried turning the resolution of the game down to their default, but it is still grey)

    i can play fine in cod2's safe mode (everything shows up), but not in regular mode. (not windows safe mode, but there is a separate safe mode for cod2)

    any ideas?
     
  2. Aranince macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Location:
    California
  3. theSchtickler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #3
    I had the same problem, and i got around it by changing the render type from "auto" to "directX 9". Does that work for you?
     
  4. sapdblue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    #4
    same problem

    I am having the same problem, can you describe to me what you mean to change rendering? also microsoft flight simulator 3 flickers when i try to play it any ideas
     
  5. theSchtickler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #5
    It's in the Graphics options in the Settings menu.
     
  6. jeff^d macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #6
    I am using 169.13 nVidia drivers with the modded inf and had this problem. I had to set the render type to DirectX 7 in order for it to work...9 just gives me the grey screen. Hmmm....
     

Share This Page