Call of Duty 4 mac and windows?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by indiankid, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. indiankid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #1
    Well I've been playing Call of Duty 4 for a while now and wondered if the people I play with online are all mac users or whether they are both windows and mac?
    Is this even possible with any game?
     
  2. Syonidism macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    Turkey
    #2
    warcraft III Frozen throne works online with Win & Mac & Nux
    wow mac & win
    ra3 mac & win
    Neverwinter nights(1 / 2) mac & win
     
  3. Brad Oliver macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    Yes, Call of Duty 4 features cross-platform multiplayer.
     
  4. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #4
    Most of the people you play with online are PC users.
     
  5. LycanNyc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    I'm a mac user +1 , I've made my friend buy a Mac and play COD4 as well :)
    I have 2 more new mac friends and are getting the game for mac as well
    we should play
     
  6. jpablo314 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #6
    how cod mac and windows?

    Hello all, i'm new in mac and macRumors. How did you play cod4 with mac and windows? I cannot see the server (for server's mac and server's windows)

    I'm using all seeing eye in windows.

    thanks
     
  7. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #7
    What?

    Your question doesn't make any sense. You can't see any servers or you can't tell the difference between a server hosted on a PC or hosted on a Mac?

    And you shouldn't need any third-party software, unless you're a bot in which case I'm sure another bot will be here shortly to post a very helpful link to a program hosted somewhere in India, China, or Russia.
     
  8. iAlexG macrumors 6502

    iAlexG

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, Missing Britain.
    #8
    You should be able to play with PC users if it is supported on multiple platform right? Quake Wars? (since I have just ordered it)

    I play COD4 and Sauerbraten and the are both cross-platform online
     
  9. jpablo314 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #9
    I updated my cod4 to 1.7 and I see others servers, but.. I've two computers in my home, a Mac and a PC, so, I start a server from the PC and I cannot see it in my Mac, I see others but not mine.

    Are there some All Seeing Eye for Mac?

    Thanks.
     
  10. morrisman1 macrumors 6502

    #10
    i have this same issue, my mac version is 1.7.549 and the windows version is 1.7.568 i think. The issue may lie here
     
  11. jpablo314 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    #11
    I see now my server (hosted windows) like "local server", but not as "internet server".

    I now using all seeing eye or similar.

    Regards.

    JP
     
  12. takamine macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    #12
    Slightly off topic, for those that have both the Mac and Windows version of COD4, is the Windows version slightly faster? If so, by approximately how much?
     
  13. morrisman1 macrumors 6502

    #13
    personally ive found the opposite, the mac version runs smoothly while the windows version on the same settings was jerky.

    On windows ive got the latest nvidia drivers and latest COD patches installed. Its windows xp, not vista.
     

Share This Page