Call of duty 4 question

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Liam1313, May 19, 2008.

  1. Liam1313 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #1
    i have a intel iMac umm..
    version 10.4.11 and im getting leopard to run Call of Duty 4 .... but ive given up on mac gaming.. i get screwed every way possible. So i want to run cod4 the fastest way possible, but will cod4 run well with...

    Processor: 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

    Memory:1 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

    using a bootcamp partition of Windows xp home Edition? like on a performance scale scale of 1-10 on what settings?
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    What graphics card does your iMac have? If you don't know, is your iMac white or black/aluminum?
     
  3. Liam1313 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
  4. redsteven macrumors 6502a

    redsteven

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #4
    Get a second gig of ram.

    And yeah, what graphics card are u using? And there IS a call of duty 4 demo, so you might want to try that out.
    It's single player only so it's not the best way to gauge performance, but it should still give you a good idea of whether or not you can run the game.

    I'm guessing that you can.

    I'm guessing that I can, too, even though I have a first gen intel iMac. I'm just not yet sure if i'll be able to run the upcoming MAC version with a smooth framerate.
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    You have an ATI Radeon X1600. Run the game in bootcamp, use the latest bootcamp drivers from ATI and with no AA/AF you should get 25+ fps. You may need to turn a few things down.

    If 10 is 100fps with everything on at 1920X1200 and 1 is the game loads with minimum settings at 640X480 but I can barely move, then I'd say 4 to 5.
     
  6. Liam1313 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
  7. Liam1313 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #7
    ok but where do i get these... ATI drivers and whats aa/af ?
     
  8. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #8
  9. redsteven macrumors 6502a

    redsteven

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #9
    Are you sure he has the x1600? I know I do, but his isn't a first gen if he's got a core 2 duo.

    Also, Liam, did you get 128 or 256 megs of VRAM?

    Go to "About This Mac" in the Apple Menu. Then click on the "More Info..." button.

    Then click on "Graphics/Displays" in the sidebar on the left.

    I've provided a screenshot example.

    The screenshot is actually from my macbook pro, but it's got the same graphics card that my iMac does.

    EDIT: and btw... anti-aliasing (AA) generally makes the edges look smoother (without AA on you'll notice that in many games the edges of characters and objects look very jagged). Anisotropic Filtering, on the other hand, prevents objects from getting distorted as they get farther away from your character in a game.
    I personally like http://www.tweakguides.com/Graphics_11.html as it's totally game-focused and provides excellent, simple picture comparisons.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #10
    White + 2GHz Core 2 Duo = X1600 no doubt whatsoever.
     
  11. Liam1313 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
  12. ninjapenguinart macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #12

Share This Page