Call of Duty Black Ops via Bootcamp - Settings?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by neenja, Nov 16, 2010.

  1. neenja macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #1
    Wanted to compile a list of settings and Macs you are all using for Call of Duty Black Ops. Also, please tell us how it performs.

    Macbook Pro 15in
    2.4ghz intel core 2 duo
    NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT 256mb
    4gb ram

    on my office comp, will get my settings of the game when i get home.
     
  2. skatementle, Nov 16, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2010

    skatementle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #2
    1200x800.
    no shadows
    no bullet impact
    aa off
    normal graphics
    bilinear w.e its called

    average 28 dips to 20 for moments and usually 29-30fps patch will fix im hoping
     
  3. R1PPER macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #3
    Imac 2.66 Core 2 Duo
    NVIDIA 9400m 256mb
    4gb ram

    Black ops running on Boot Camp Windows 7 32 Bit.

    Completely unplayable even at 800x600even after enabeling dual cores and config tweaking.

    Apparently they are working on patching it and working with nvidia on drivers but dont know if they are working on fixing it for older hardware like my 9400m.

    In comparison MW2 runs near perfect at high Resolution with alittle GPU clocking.
     
  4. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    2.93Ghz Quad Mac Pro
    8GB 1066Mhz DDR3 RAM
    7,200 RPM HD
    ATi Radeon 5870 1GB
    23" ACD @ 1920x1200

    Everything maxed out, with 8xAA and Trilinear Filtering. Smooth as butter, high FPS and looks rather pretty.
     
  5. Cr33pY macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #5

    Thats the way! ;)

    I got an MPB 17"
    8GB Ram DDR3 1066mhz
    7200 Rpm
    Nvidia 9600GT 512mb

    everything on
    aa 2x
    Trilinear filtering

    playable and very good looking! ;)

    Bootcamp on win 7 32bits.
     
  6. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6
    your GPU has a problem. NVIDIA 9400M is shared chipset. it's not dedicated graphic card. it's just like intel HD graphic but customized only for Apple. so if you search for something, most new games can't be played with your graphic card unfortunately. at least you should have ATI mobility radeon 4670 512MB, or NVIDIA 310GT 512MB for playing smoothly. but I don't think that even new macbook, or macbook pro (13inch) can play well. unfortunately, most mac users have no idea why they can't play it. comparing with PC, even desktop graphic card is not the same. it's only for apple. customized. if you try to use apple desktop graphic card for PC, it won't work. that's why I don't like mac. no compatible whatsoever.
     
  7. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    What crack have you been smoking recently? Seriously?

    Whilst you're correct that the 9400M is integrated, it's actually capable of running games. Sure, not at high resolutions or detail, but the very fact that the poster said they can get Modern Warfare 2 running indicates that Black Ops should also run. There is clearly an issue stopping it working.

    The 13" models of MBP play games. The 320M is a decent performer.

    The reason Macs need different GPUs is because they use EFI rather than BIOS. EFI is starting to be used in the PC market, so we should see less issues in the future.
     
  8. cjacks68 macrumors regular

    cjacks68

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #8
    15" MBP
    Core 2 duo 2.53 ghz
    4 gb ram
    9600 with 512mb

    I started out playing with super low settings, which gave me awful framerates. Then the other day I cranked up my settings to full 1440x900 resolution, 8x AA, and almost half Anisotropic filtering, shadows turned off. It now runs surprisingly smoothly. I'm still having some multiplayer issues, so hopefully the patch they release soon will fix my last remaining problems.
     
  9. R1PPER macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #9
    All i want is an imac with replaceable GPU....dont care if its 1 inch thicker in the middle....roll on cloud gaming.
     
  10. neenja thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #10
    i tried something i saw on the bops forums, turning off Vsync. it TOTALLY helped my lag 100%!

    now i play pretty much the same settings as mw2.

    1440x900
    aa 2x
    graphics and texture at auto (ive tried high and tri and it still worked pretty good)

    the only thing that lags me is having shadows on.

    if you guys havnt tried yet, turn OFF vsync and see how it works out
     
  11. skatementle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #11

    dam sounds good ill give it a shot
     
  12. skatementle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #12

    Hell YA! playes so much better now 40avrg on normal 1200x800 everything off

    lowest it goes is 30 in alot ofcombat sometimes. (rarely) theres a lag of like 20something but thats no big it onlyhappens like once a match if that


    thanks!
     
  13. Consultant, Nov 19, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2010

    Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #13
    Frame Rate FIX

    Open Task Manager
    Set COD BO to "high" priority.

    Videos still lags though but game play is smooth now!

    Update: You probably have to do this every time you launch it.
     
  14. BigYellow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    #14
    Wow that made a huge difference. I was playing on low/medium settings at 1680x1050 (my monitor's max), and it would get choppy from time to time. Now I turned off the "sync every frame" (vsync, same thing I believe) and I maxed everything out and its smooth as can be

    thanks!
     
  15. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    To quote peskaa here ;);

    2.26Ghz Octad Mac Pro
    12GB 1066Mhz DDR3 RAM
    ATi Radeon 4870 512MB
    30" ACD @ 2560x1600
    Win7 Pro 64bit

    Everything maxed out except for AA. Smooth as butter and looks absolutely gorgeous!
     
  16. archurban, Nov 19, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2010

    archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #16
    which crack? good god. are you drunk? here you go. if you don't see more than 30fps (more than medium setting with high detail on texture), don't play games seriously. it's unplayable, and pain my ass. 9400M is like very lower class 4 graphic card today. just go 'notebookcheck' website to check it out. most new games you can't play. old games are OK (more than 3-4 years old). you don't have many choices to play unfortunately. just go ask somebody if it is good. answer is NO.

    http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-9400M-G.11949.0.html

    see how this graphic card is terrible for gaming above website. then you know whether you are drunk or not.

    oh, by the way, you assume that black ops would be run? that's pathetic. BO is completely not optimized for PC. that's why so many pc gamers complain about BO even after it gets few patches. modern warfare 2 is only the game that you can easily play very smooth without worry. unfortunately, BO uses the same engine like call of duty world at war which is notoriously unoptimized for PC. now, you don't know what you talk. you just assume.
     
  17. Troy2000 macrumors regular

    Troy2000

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #17
    A quick report on the results of the patch. Stuttering has been relieved significantly, and the game has shown a reasonable boost in FPS (From 29-30 avg before to 42-60 avg after). But, of course, there is a problem. The game now freezes approximately 30 seconds after joining a server. This issue may or may not be limited to my installation.

    My specs and settings are:

    (Settings)
    Resolution: 2560x1440
    Anti-Aliasing: 4X
    Texture Detail: All Extra
    V-Sync: Enabled
    Texture Filtering: 16X Trilinear


    (Specs)
    CPU: 2x 2.26GHz Xeon Quad
    RAM:16GB DDR3 1066MHz
    GPU: ATI 4870 512MB

    Do let us know how this patch works out for you. :)
     
  18. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #18
    9400m >>> any Intel integrated. Sure, it's not going to give the performance of a better discrete card, but it is reasonably capable.
     
  19. R1PPER macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #19
    Hi it's R1pper again, it's just frustrating when i can run MW2 at good resolution and this shares the same Quake 3 engine at heart. Problem with having an imac but no way im having a desktop in my living room. Already spent £80 in windows 7 and £40 on Black Ops. I will now have to wait 8 months for an Imac spec bump and then upgrade to the mid level one. Imacs are brilliant but they need to come up with a better GPU solution.
     
  20. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #20
    So your argument is simply that if a game doesn't run at over 30fps with medium settings and high texture levels, it doesn't count as being able to run? Sorry, that is simply your opinion and may well not be shared by a lot of people. There are many people out there willing to drop the detail level to play a game, and they are content with the results.

    I will never say the 9400M is fantastic, but it's faster than anything Intel have put out, and it allows people to actually run games - yes, not at the settings you seem to think are the absolute minimum, but they will run.


    As an aside, I have Black Ops running incredibly smoothly under Windows. So much for your "not possible".
     
  21. iMacN00b macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    #21
    Seems fantastic on a 2010 imac 27"

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ihlG2ge8hWY

    1080p with all the candy for 50-60fps or Native if you knock back the AA and shadows. Native with all settings maxed, but AA down to 4x = 25-30fps.

    Hopefully the video is useful.
     
  22. Jolt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #22
    Ah cheers for the vid.

    I've been checking youtube each day since release for a decent vid of BO running on a 2010 iMac.

    Looking to buy one in the next month or so and was hoping to see how they do one recentish games like this.
     
  23. filfortugno macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    #23
    my MBP i7, 240 owc ssd, 8gb of ram kicks ass in black ops, everything on high including v-sync on, always over 35fps.
     
  24. iMacN00b macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    #24
    No problem. I have been playing with native res a bit and uploaded this:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UTX87OLL1C4

    FRAPS half scaled to 720p, max 30fps.

    Jungle scene benchmarks:
    2560 x 1440 Max settings, Except with AA OFF /ansio down to low = 40-50fps
    2560 x 1440 Max settings, with AA 2x and max ansio = 30-40 fps
    2560 x 1440 Max settings, with AA 4x and max ansio = 25-30 fps


    Cheers

    /ImacN00b
     
  25. Haydun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #25
    I really enjoyed CoD4 so I want to buy BO aswell, but I'm not sure if it will run on my mid 2009 macbook pro, 2,53Ghz, 4Gb, 9600m.
    Is this game playable on my macbook (40<fps) ?
    I dont want to spend 60 bucks if it isnt worth it!
     

Share This Page