Call of Duty crashes after a few seconds?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by PXL Creations, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. PXL Creations macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    #1
    Hello all, I recently purchased Call of Duty Deluxe for my MacBook. It has 2gb of ram, and enough memory free to run Call of Duty 2, so I don't see why Call of Duty 1 crashes after a few seconds.

    Here's what happens. I load the game up, start walking around, then try and look around. It then crashes completely and I can't do anything about it. I've re-installed it, tried looking for help online, but nothing.

    When it crashed if asked if I wanted to report, so I decided to copy the errors its giving me here..

    Anybody know what to do? It's such a bummer because CoD 2 works fine.
     
  2. masterofbuckets macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #2
    Looks like a driver bug. Does your MacBook have an ATI card ? I suspect its the X1600.

    To find out, click on the Apple icon on the top left corner of your screen. Select 'About this Mac'. It will show you some basic info in a small pane, including what OS you are running. Click on 'More Info'.

    This will open a large window showing all the hardware / software in your Mac. On the left side of the window, there will be an option named 'Graphics / Displays'. Click on it, this will show you what video card you have ( on the right side ).

    If you are running Leopard ( i.e 10.5.x ), make sure you are updated to 10.5.8

    If running Snow Leopard ( i.e 10.6.x ), make sure you are updated to latest version, 10.6.4

    You can try lowering all the settings and then trying but not sure if it will help. Worth a try though.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. PXL Creations thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    #3
    My graphics card is a Intel GMA 950, it doesn't say X1600 anywhere... I'll try lowering the settings like you said.

    EDIT: Lowering the settings doesn't do anything...
     
  4. masterofbuckets macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #4
    Well, that explains it. The GMA 950 is not a capable graphics card. Its ancient, and I am surprised Call Of Duty 1 even starts :p

    Note the minimum system requirements here :

    http://www.aspyr.com/product/game_specs/26

    If your Mac doesn't have a ATI or NVIDIA graphics card, your gaming choices are severely limited even if you want to play old games. Plus the drivers are not updated for quite some time.

    Your best bet is to play on a capable Mac ( if you have one) or buy the latest Mac you can afford. :(
     
  5. 95thSharpe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #5
    Hey there,
    I had this problem when I was running it on my old macbook which also ran CoD 2.
    I tried reinstalling but this didn't work, so I made a second account and installed it on to that one and it worked fine. Hope this helps :)
     
  6. PXL Creations thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

Share This Page