Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 advice needed

A.Fish

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2009
1
0
I've been seeing conflicting reports online, and before I go and install a ton of things, I would like some input as to whether or not I would be able to run the game on my computer under Bootcamp. If someone could also give me a recommended Windows partition size that would be great too. I have Windows XP Pro.

SPECS:

Macbook pro, OSX 10.6.2
Intel Core Duo 2.5GHz, 2 cores
2GB RAM, 667 MHz
249 GB HDD
1440x900 display
 

Nicoow

macrumors newbie
Mar 10, 2009
24
0
I'm running Modern Warfare 2 on my 13" MBP
2,26 Ghz, 4gb ram, 9400m...
I'm playing it at 1280x720 with everything set on high (no anti-aliassing)
Verry good game!;)
(sorry for my bad english)
edit: i'm running win 7 64bit under bootcamp
 

spinnerlys

Guest
Sep 7, 2008
14,328
7
forlod bygningen
I run it on an 17-inch MacBook Pro with 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM and the 9600M GT with 512MB RAM.
I set it at high and run it with a 1680x1050 without hiccups under Windows XP SP 3.

You'll be fine.
 

AluminumMB

macrumors regular
Feb 11, 2009
170
5
I'm running Modern Warfare 2 on my 13" MBP
2,26 Ghz, 4gb ram, 9400m...
I'm playing it at 1280x720 with everything set on high (no anti-aliassing)
Verry good game!;)
(sorry for my bad english)
edit: i'm running win 7 64bit under bootcamp
what frame rate do u get?
 

salpet123

macrumors newbie
Nov 20, 2009
2
0
Should I buy?

Hi,

I'm running boot camp (Windows XP SP3 - but I think I have 32 bit, not 64) through my regular MacBook. Here are the MacBook specs:

2.4 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
2 X 1 GB RAM 1067 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce 9400m
250 GB HD

How am I looking?
 

dr34mc4st3r

macrumors regular
Aug 18, 2009
235
123
Singapore
Hi,

I'm running boot camp (Windows XP SP3 - but I think I have 32 bit, not 64) through my regular MacBook. Here are the MacBook specs:

2.4 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
2 X 1 GB RAM 1067 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce 9400m
250 GB HD

How am I looking?
you might want to turn down the resolution and graphics, i think it should be somewhat playable.
 

salpet123

macrumors newbie
Nov 20, 2009
2
0
I'm running it on a MacBook Air and it has 0 frame drops and its smooth as butter. Pretty sure his 13" MB with a higher clocked 9400M would do better.
Would I run into any problems being that my Windows is (I think) 32 bit?
 

Consultant

macrumors G5
Jun 27, 2007
13,292
20
If u r going to do games, keep in mind many games are 5gb to 10gb install per game, add about 20gb for windows and required free space.
 

shlimun

macrumors newbie
Nov 23, 2009
1
0
hey everyone, im a new user and i run into some problems:(. I just installed windows 7 32 bit through bootcamp on my macbook pro and all seemed to be running well but now i get an error saying: directx has encountered an unrecoverable error. i dont know what to do, i have the 13 inch pro and it seems like someone in this thread has it running perfectly on theirs so i dont understand what the problem is, any suggestions, please help
 

alphaod

macrumors Core
Feb 9, 2008
22,168
1,212
NYC
All I have to say is I have everything maxed out (including AA)… game looks absolutely sweet!
 

Slayer357

macrumors newbie
Nov 20, 2009
1
0
Ive got the new 21.5inch iMac.

Intel Duo 3.06ghz
500gb hdd
4GB ram
Nvidia 9400m
Windows xp sp3 under bootcamp.

I can run modern warfare 1 on the lowest settings, and get 100+ frames in some parts, but in others, it drops down to 38-45. And still, other times its 60-79. I have no idea why, but if i turn shadows, anti aliasing, ect on, i get horribly laggy gameplay, and 20 framerate. (any ideas why?)

I dont know if the mac version of modern warfare runs any better, and i also dont know if modern warfare 2 will run any better.
 

ClivePwned

macrumors member
May 25, 2009
34
0
Ive got the new 21.5inch iMac.

I can run modern warfare 1 on the lowest settings, and get 100+ frames in some parts, but in others, it drops down to 38-45. And still, other times its 60-79. I have no idea why, but if i turn shadows, anti aliasing, ect on, i get horribly laggy gameplay, and 20 framerate. (any ideas why?)
.
Because your system's videocard isn't beefy enough to render all the fancy stuff and keep a steady framerate. That's why turning off things like shadows, anti aliasing, texture resolution (and overall resolution in a pinch) will give you better framerates
 

macbookairspain

macrumors newbie
May 16, 2009
4
0
Having trouble running Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 on my Air

Hi guys,

Im really having trouble running the game on my air its the mac version of the game not through bootcamp or anything, its so bumpy and slow it makes it hard to play the game, i had no problems with call of duty 4 could even run it on quite high settings but this one is killing me, any reason why? anything i can do? this is my spec:

Model Identifier: MacBookAir2,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 1.6 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 6 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
NVIDIA GeForce 9400M
Type: Display
Bus: PCI
VRAM (Total): 256 MB

Thanks
 

Maennchen

macrumors newbie
Jan 6, 2010
2
0
COD MW2 on iMac using VMWare Fusion 3.0.1

Hello everybody.

If I want to play modern warfare 2 on my iMac using Fusion software 3.0.1, the graphics do not work. I did the settings on cores and cache to the maximum and also clicked 3D graphics. And still it does not work. Did anyone experience a similar problem. Does it work with bootcamp instead ?

My hardware>
iMac 8,1
3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4GB 800MHz DDR 2 SDRAM
NVidia Ge Force 8800 GS
 

macbookairspain

macrumors newbie
May 16, 2009
4
0
There is no Mac version of Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2
Well I downloaded it and its working and I dont have any specialist software on my mac....

Anyway, some levels work ok others are just really slow and jittery I guess its the amount of scenery, people, cars etc variables in each level. Im just wondering if there is anyway to improve the performance, I dont have any other programmes running, any ideas?
 

dvin

macrumors member
Mar 12, 2009
59
0
Well I downloaded it and its working and I dont have any specialist software on my mac....

Anyway, some levels work ok others are just really slow and jittery I guess its the amount of scenery, people, cars etc variables in each level. Im just wondering if there is anyway to improve the performance, I dont have any other programmes running, any ideas?
1. get a legit copy.
2. install windows via bootcamp
3. install game.
4. play game.
 

Similar threads

Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.