call of duty multiplayer connecting to server help

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by a canadian, Jun 24, 2008.

  1. a canadian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #1
    Hey all of you,

    I have had call of duty and call of duty united offensive for a while, but i just got high speed internet and i wanted to play online. two problems happened.

    The first was that i didn't get any server listings. I had set it to no filters, set the source to internet, connectiong type was LAN/Cable/DSL (what the internet guy said to set it to), game types all, and i even got the "Getting info for however many servers" flashing icon. And still, nothing happened.

    That was my first problem. In my attempt to fix it, i went to
    GameRanger to see if that would help. I set up an account and found my game and sure enough, i found like over 1000 servers (with people playing on them). So i tried to join one, and it opened call of duty united offensive multiplayer and gave me a screen with "Awaiting connection...". There was a number that kept rising. I figured that it would go to 100 or something reasonable. so i waited. once it reached 100 it kept going. I didn't know when it was going to stop so i left and came back. it was at 560 something when i came back.http://images.macrumors.com/vb/images/smilies/confused.gif

    I have just thought that GameRanger is for microsoft, but i got the idea of GameRanger from Age of Empires II (for mac)(it was one of the choices for joining multiplayer Age of Empires II games).

    first of all, what is going on and secondly, can any one help me?
     
  2. Dilard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    #2
    make sure the firewall is allowing it to connect to the internet
     
  3. Scott Kevill macrumors newbie

    Scott Kevill

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    #3
    GameRanger definitely isn't from Microsoft. :)

    I also would have suggested a firewall problem, but if that were the case, you probably wouldn't be able to view the list of servers in GameRanger either.

    Make sure you are patched up to the latest versions of Call of Duty (1.5) and Call of Duty: United Offensive (1.5.1).

    Call of Duty Updates

    Call of Duty: United Offensive Updates

    Scott.
     
  4. a canadian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #4
    Thanks guys. I have done some research before this and people have been telling me the same thing. I was just making sure that this wasn't something special. Now, this might sound silly brace yourselves, i just got call of duty 4 and a ps3 for my birthday. and when i try to get listings, it has a "Getting game quality" flashing icon. every once and a while, it changes but it is too quick for me to see. same problem?
     
  5. Dilard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
  6. a canadian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #6
    Thanks. My dad and i might have found a solution. we are going to try to open the ports to the ps3 and my computer for cod and cod4.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  7. manlymann2006 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #7
    hiii

    is there anu way 2 play any games in mac book m a new user plzzz tell me...:confused::confused:
     

Share This Page