call of duty on mac

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by raff113, Aug 30, 2009.

  1. raff113 macrumors newbie

    raff113

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Location:
    birmingham england
    #1
    just purchased alu mac book the 799 one ,i was wondering if i could play cod 4 or modernwarfare 2 on it,i was told i needed a gaming pc for them games
     
  2. sallythemac Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #2
    I play COD4 and 5 in Boot Camp on my Unibody MacBook (2.4GHz, 4GB) - run fine with the right settings. I have read similar for the 2GHz version.

    The nVidia GPU is actually quite good. It's supposedly better then the ATI card I had in my 2Ghz Alu iMac (Rev A). And i played COD4 and 5 on that.
     
  3. raff113 thread starter macrumors newbie

    raff113

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Location:
    birmingham england
    #3
    so what is boot camp..
     
  4. patrickdunn macrumors 6502a

    patrickdunn

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
  5. zbasarab macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    #5
    you dont need bootcamp to play CoD4 on Mac.

    There's a mac version you can buy online or in stores. I use it and can play it on medium-high settings with my 2.0ghz 2g ram uMB.
     
  6. PharaohKilla23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Location:
    WI
    #6
    Did you know...

    Apple® Store sells Call of Duty 4 and Call of Duty:Modern Warfare 2?

    I assume, they imply the fact that we can buy them for use on Apple® products, no?
     
  7. rhythm12345 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    #7
    Mac version

    Get the Mac version of the game or dual boot into Windows using Boot Camp
     
  8. Ljw1976 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #8
    thanks...ive been wanting to find this out for ages.but havent the time to search the forums of late..so one last time..

    my 2ghz unibody macbook with 4gb ram will run fine on medium settings right..on both games...?
     
  9. XboxMySocks macrumors 68020

    XboxMySocks

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #9
    Should run 25fps. On the max settings.
     
  10. TheWelshBoyo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #10
    You'd be happy to play a first person shooter at 25fps?!
    I'd much rather dip down to medium settings and get more fps, even if it were only 5 or 6 more. 30fps is the minimum number of frames per second for motion to look fluid to the human eye.
     
  11. XboxMySocks macrumors 68020

    XboxMySocks

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #11
    W/ volumetric lighting and some other form of amazing shadowing I can't recall atm, yes. I would.
     
  12. TheWelshBoyo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #12
    OK, yes, you can get incredible details etc, but wouldn't you prefer the motion to be perfectly smooth, when only losing a little bit of detail?
     

Share This Page