Caller ID shows country code and I don't know why

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by BlendedFrog, Jan 13, 2016.

  1. BlendedFrog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #1
    For any number that is not part of my contact list it will display the country as part of the incoming caller id (i.e. +1 (xxx) xxx-xxxx). This only started about two weeks ago and I have no idea why. No settings have changed on my phone. I made sure that the 'dialing assist' option is turned off and at&t swears nothing has changed on my account. What's even more weird is that in the recent call log screen is it shows the number with the country code, but if you go into the visual voicemail screen, it only shows the 10 digit phone number.

    It's very annoying why this is happening and I'd like to find out why.
     
  2. yaboyac29 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    #2
    Is it really that big of a deal?

    It's been showing the country code for years here in Canada.
     
  3. BlendedFrog thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #3
    Not really per say, but I'd like to know why it started two weeks ago.
     
  4. iDuel macrumors 6502a

    iDuel

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Greece/USA
    #4
    Could have been a carrier update that caused this to happen. FWIW, mine also shows the county code next to the 10 digit number. Not really a big deal.
     
  5. BlendedFrog thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #5
    It really isn't a big deal as it doesn't interfere with any functionality. However, a feature changed and me being the inquisitive person would like to know why.
     
  6. timeconsumer macrumors 65816

    timeconsumer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    PNW
    #6
    What carrier are you on? I just checked in my voicemail and I've had it show this for at least a year now, maybe longer but I don't have any voicemails that go back further. I'm on Verizon.
     
  7. BlendedFrog thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #7
    I am on at&t.
     
  8. Vicrooloo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    #8
    "It's very annoying why this is happening and I'd like to find out why."
    "It really isn't a big deal as it doesn't interfere with any functionality. However, a feature changed and me being the inquisitive person would like to know why."

    From annoying to its not a big deal to inquisitive. Interesting.
     
  9. BlendedFrog thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #9
    And you point is what? Something changed on my phone and my service and I want to know why. Your post added no value other than being snippy.
     
  10. HEK macrumors 68030

    HEK

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #10
    I'm with AT&T and didn't notice it till mentioned by OP on here. Think it makes good sense, provides more info to me. Can't imagine why it would bother anyone to know country of origin of call.

    Can't wait for the settings button to block all calls from Pakistan/Indian boiler room call centers coming in iOS 10. So far my non-existent Windows PC has been sending them messages I have a virus. Fourth call in last couple weeks. They always get so mad after 20 minutes on phone with me when we establish I no longer own a Windows machine. Always seems to end with them saying FU.

    I'm still waiting on the police to come and arrest me for the back taxes I owe the IRS. Agent with heavy accent told me I had one last chance or they were on the way, as I didn't have the $7,000 to pay by pay card in next 45 minutes. Maybe they don't have my address? Should I call them back?

    The Nigerian prince stopped calling me. Must have found someone else to transfer the 30 million he needed my help with to get out of country. Hope it all went well for him. Sure could have used that 10% he promised me. Oh well, guess it's back to buying power ball tickets. At least those odds are better, One chance in 291 million.
     
  11. solodogg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #11
    AT&T here as well, been doing this for quite some time for me. Just looked back through my logs, and for last least the past 2 months it has been happening. My logs stop after that, but i'm pretty sure I remember it for at least the past year.
     
  12. Vicrooloo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    #12
    Nothing gets pasted you eh?

    To be snippy

    PS. TMO here and it shows country code. I'm really offended now. Well actually, I'm cool with it. Wait, now I'm wondering what has changed so that TMO and AT&T are showing country codes with numbers...
     
  13. avanpelt macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #13
    I'm on AT&T and just noticed that the U.S. country code is showing up on the caller ID for me, as well. Not sure exactly how long it's been showing up but according to the call log, it's been that way for a while. I brought this iPhone 6 over from Verizon this past summer and the country code wasn't displaying on VZW as far as I can recall.
     
  14. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #14
    I've been seeing with Verizon for a little while now, and don't quite recall it beyond there before.
     
  15. ssmed macrumors 6502

    ssmed

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    This happens on WiFi Calling whilst the other end thinks you are an international call - not great for getting an answer! - UK EE
     
  16. ohio.emt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #16
    On AT&T and been seeing this since at least October. I remember seeing it on previous iPhones before that at times though.
     

Share This Page