Calling yourself on Facetime

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by dextr3k, Jan 10, 2013.

  1. dextr3k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    #1
    So....I am curious, played around with it and it seems to be unlikely.

    I have an iMac 27", a MBA, iPhone 5, and an iPad 4. My wife has an iPhone 5 with her own itunes/iCloud accounts.

    But my iPad has since been "acquired" by my wife, she carries it around and uses it extensively around the house. The iPad is setup under my itunes/iCloud account. Now my question is, I want to call her on Facetime on the iPad, so it would essentially be me calling myself on 2 separate devices.

    Can this be done without switching accounts on the iPad? I say this because all the iPad HD apps are bought using my account, so I don't want to disassociate my account. This can be also extended to using my iMac/MBA to call the iPad as well.
     
  2. kvizzel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #2
    Settings, Facetime -

    "You can be reached by Facetime at:"

    Add Another Email....

    You can add multiple emails, and call them.
     
  3. dextr3k thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    #3
    Hey!

    That worked, I knew about the option, but I had to uncheck all of my emails and IDs, the trick is to have one email associated with each device. I tried before and got a busy signal, now I just got it working, thanks.

    It was kinda weird calling myself on my MBA from my phone sitting in front of me, haha.
     
  4. Mrg02d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
  5. iRooney macrumors 6502

    iRooney

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #5
    Not really.
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    Seriously ? You need some more interests then.
     
  7. Mrg02d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #7
    Was an eye-roll smiley really needed for clarification? I can edit my post if it is...
     
  8. okboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    #8
    This doesn't work. If you try contact yourself from your phone to your computer, you get an error saying you're busy, even if you click accept.
     
  9. ElCidRo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

Share This Page