Camcorder Compatibility

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by davidrobertson, Nov 14, 2010.

1. davidrobertson macrumors newbie

I realise this is probably in the wrong place - forgive me, I'm new to this.
    I have a Panasonic Camcorder, VDR D160. Neither of my Mac Books, one newer than the other, can recognise it. It does not appear on Apple's list of compatible camcorders, but I hope there may be a driver somewhere that would help. Anyone know of a solution? My daughter is keen on making videos and would like to add material from this camcorder.

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

You might need an external, tray-loading DVD drive to read the 8cm DVDs, or do you want to connect that camcorder via USB?

Do you or your daughter plan to edit the videos stored on there?

3. davidrobertson thread starter macrumors newbie

I want to connect via USB and edit with imovie. Or at least, my daughter does!

4. bmcgonag macrumors 65816

bmcgonag

Option 1
    If it has the USB connection already, then you'll want to connect it. See if the camcorder shows up in Finder as a USB Mounted Drive, or maybe a white drive (like an app image when it opens after download).

If so, then you can look through the DVD for the movie clips and drag them into your mac. After that, you may need to convert the files.

Use MPEGStreamClip to do this. It's a great converter. If they files are in MPEG2 format, you will have to buy a $20 codec from apple. It will tell you if you need it, the first time you try to convert.

Once converted to .dv format you can import directly to iMovie and edit them any way you want.

Steps
    1. Connect camera to mac
    2. If it mounts as a drive, navigate to video clips and drag to mac.
    3. Convert clips to .dv format.
    4. Import clips to iMovie for editing.

Option 2