Camcorder with a High Frames per Second

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by dagolfpro, Mar 12, 2008.

1. dagolfpro macrumors newbie

Hi Gang,

I'm a golf instructor looking for a camcorder with a highest possible frames per second for under $500. Everything I've liked so far is not compatible with Mac's. Any recommendations?

2. TEG macrumors 604

TEG

Anything with Firewire/iLink works just fine. Same goes for 99% of all others. The only reason they don't say they work is just that they aren't providing software, mainly because most Macs have the software built-in.

TEG

3. dagolfpro thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you. Any suggestions for a 60 fps camcorder for under $500?

4. diamond.g macrumors 603

diamond.g

Are you looking for a high speed camcorder or just a camcorder that records at 60fps? I am pretty sure most if not all US camcorders shoot at 60fps. I don't think you will find a high speed camcorder for under 500 dollars though.

5. Carl Spackler macrumors 6502

Carl Spackler

You will not find a camcorder capable of high frame rates for around $500, let alone $5000. Don't confuse fields per second with frames per second. All U.S. consumer cameras will do 60 interlaced fields per second (60i), which play back at roughly 30 frames per second. Some will do 30 progressive frames per second (30p) and fewer still will do 24 frames per second (24P).

I assume you want to be able to go through swings at a frame-by-frame level. Your best bet, IMHO, is going to be to get an HD camera (for image quality) that will do 30p (for still frame accuracy). Set the shutter speed to the highest possible and shoot away.

More indepth details on frames vs. fields & Shutter speeds

Hope that helps.

6. mchalebk macrumors 6502a

My recommendation is to go to camcorderinfo.com. It's by far the best website I've found for researching camcorders. They have extensive in-depth reviews. They also have message boards. Here's a link:

http://www.camcorderinfo.com/