Camcorders in Snow Leopard

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Dented, Jun 3, 2010.

1. Dented macrumors 6502a

Firstly, apologies for the really basic question I'm about to ask.

I'm a relative newbie to Macs (switched from PC to a new 13" Macbook Pro last October) and a complete newbie to all forms of digital video - the last camcorder I used in anger had a tape in it, and I'm not talking about DV either. However, I'm about to become a dad for the first time, so my thoughts are naturally those of any new father - namely, what camcorder should I buy?

I'm not after specific recommendations, I have a budget (not much) and baseless personal preference (Sony), but what I'd like to know is if there's anything I really need to be aware of and avoid, when it comes to working with the Mac and iMovie. Up till now I've pretty much assumed that I'll be able to plug anything in and it'll "just work", but now I'm getting closer to parting with my money I'm suddenly afraid I'll end up with that one camcorder in the shop that doesn't talk nicely with the Mac.

Occasionally camcorder manufacturers (and reviews) will boast about specific PC software that comes included, but I'm assuming that's only needed as PC support is generally poorer out of the box, whereas Apple has the mighty iLife pre-installed already. So is compatibility with iMovie etc guaranteed with whatever you buy, or are there still particular makes/models to be avoided?

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

3. neutrino23 macrumors 68000

You'll need to study up on this topic ahead of time. HD is not like DV. With DV we had a complete path from the camera to the computer to the nonlinear editor to a DVD. With HD the situation is quite murky.