Camera and OS X

Discussion in 'macOS' started by asqy, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. asqy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    When I plug my camera into my mac nothing happens unless i go to iphoto...

    Being a new convert to mac land I thought that the computer would recognize the plugged in camera as a drive (like a usb thumb drive)...

    should it?
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    Depends on the camera. Many of the Sony ones do mount as drives, many others don't. What kind of camera do you use?
     
  3. asqy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    fuji f31fd
     
  4. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #4
    On a lot of cameras you can set what mode the USB uses (assuming it's a USB connection)

    My D-70 didn't show up until I'd set the USB to Mass Storage mode.
     
  5. asqy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    how do you do that?
     
  6. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #6
    I don't know. Have you read the manual (pages 129 -131)?
     
  7. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    On most cameras, rotate the camera's icon to the one with the little bolt of lightening with the arrow on the end. If your camera has a different setup, then you need to read the manual.
     

Share This Page