Camera incompatible SIERRA!

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by dctracy73, Oct 7, 2016.

  1. dctracy73 macrumors newbie

    dctracy73

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    #1
    I have a Cannon EOS digital camera which I normally hook into my 2011 MacBook Pro and it recognizes it immediately, opens Photos and asks if I want to download the pictures from the camera.
    I downloaded Sierra yesterday, and plugged the camera in today. It didn't even recognize that there was a camera attached through the USB. Does anyone know if this is a problem people as seeing with the new OS? My guess is that since Apple is trying to ween us all off of ports to plug things in and physical disks that it may be by design. I can't afford another $1000.00 camera with bluetooth. Help!
     
  2. bitslap47 macrumors 6502a

    bitslap47

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #2
    Don't worry. They evidently have a massive software team dedicated to camera compatibility updates. I get 15 per week every week. They are so busy with these updates in fact, that they haven't been able to update the Mac hardware for years.
     
  3. dctracy73 thread starter macrumors newbie

    dctracy73

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    #3
    Thanks. I have a call in to Apple this morning. I'll have them put my camera on the list!
     
  4. bitslap47 macrumors 6502a

    bitslap47

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #5
    In all seriousness though... definitely give Apple feedback regarding the model, etc. Also be sure to point out that it did work on a previous version of OSX.

    It's possible they may have a workaround for you as well and may be able to get you up and running in a few minutes.
     
  5. Partron22 macrumors 68020

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #6
    Have you opened "Image Capture" to see if it'll recognize your camera?
    Not being a fan of Photos, it's all I ever use.
    There's a "open when device X is plugged in" setting in the lower left corner (? haven't checked the latest) of the App window.
    Just use Spotlight to find the App.
     

Share This Page