camera RAW problem with 980ti in mac pro, OS X El Capitan

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Somian, Oct 7, 2015.

  1. Somian, Oct 7, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2015

    Somian macrumors member

    Somian

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #1
    Hi,

    I installed a 980ti in my mac pro.

    It works fine, but it seems like it can't handle the RAW photos from my camera anymore, when I try to open them, preview freezes, and aperture will take very long to process them and ultimately shows a completely yellow or black image (depending on the size of the preview). the previews in finder look fine, though. It's only after really processing the RAWs, this problem occurs.

    Same problem with pixelmator :X

    Can this be related? does anyone know this problem?

    edit:

    I'm using the latest web driver from nvidia :X
     
  2. bartvandebiezen macrumors newbie

    bartvandebiezen

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Location:
    The Hague, The Netherlands
    #2
    Have exactly the same problem with Apple Photos and Pixelmator. When I try to edit the RAW pictures in Apple Photos, Apple Photos makes them black, or without editing, it exports them as black images. Have a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 in my Mac Pro.
     
  3. bartvandebiezen macrumors newbie

    bartvandebiezen

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Location:
    The Hague, The Netherlands
    #3
    Tried it on my MacBook Pro Retina. Everything seems to work. I switched the driver on my Mac Pro back to OS X driver. That solved some problems, but not the editing in Photos.
     
  4. Somian thread starter macrumors member

    Somian

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #4
    That's interesting. I had a GTX680 in my Mac pro before and it worked fine, I only got these issues with the 980ti.
     
  5. shadowbird423 macrumors regular

    shadowbird423

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Location:
    Chapel Hill
    #5
    This is going to sound like a stupid question, but do you have QE/CI enabled in System Info?

    Have you both checked your consoles for the time periods in question? Have you checked your bootlogs?
     
  6. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #6
    The yellow box issue was supposed to have been resolved with the latest version of the Nvidia web drivers.
     

Share This Page