Camera Raw Support

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ppdix, May 14, 2016.

1. ppdix macrumors 6502a

ppdix

I am a pro photographer. I've been using Macs since 1986 and Aperture since 2005.
    Apple decided to stop releasing updates for it in 2004 but I love it an still prefer it over Ligthtroom.
    I just got a new Canon 1DX Mark II DSLR, officially released a week ago and, Unfortunately I can't use it with Aperture or in any case, throughout Mac OS X since Apple failed to release an updated Camera Raw support for it. The photos show as unsupported.
    Adobe released it over a month ago, even before the Camera was released.
    It is really disappointing and frustrating that Apple keeps forgetting about us professionals.
    Not only they discontinued Aperture in favor of the useless and consumer-oriented Photos app but even the Mac Pro hasn't been updated in 3 years, not to mention it compares really badly to a full spec PC which costs less. Also, no 4K or 5K monitors yet. I am still using an overpriced 27" LED Cinema Display for 5 years since nothing new being released. Other brands already have cheaper and better monitors...
    Apple built it's Mac reputation on creativity and professionals. Graphic designers, Photographers, Illustrators and Videographers have always preferred Mac over PC.
    It is sad that they choose to forget about us, who buy the more expensive machines, more peripherals and rely on the Mac to create and make money.
    I hope an update is released soon so i can work with my $6000 camera.

2. AleXXXa macrumors 6502

AleXXXa

My camera launched in 2014 (D750) still isn't supported in Mavericks (Aperture and Camera RAW are up to date).
    But it works perfectly in Lightroom/Photoshop.
    Apple doesn't care about us anymore.

3. ppdix thread starter macrumors 6502a

ppdix