Camera Recommendation for slo-motion

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by thatisme, May 25, 2010.

1. thatisme macrumors 6502

thatisme

I am a bowling coach, and am looking for an affordable camcorder to use for swing analysis on the lanes. Where we bowl is not very brightly lit, so the camera will need to handle low-light situations fairly well (we are not doing broadcast video, so video noise is not a huge issue), and I would like one that does H.264 HD video.

Currently I am using my 5D mark II Dslr, and while it does really nice HD video, it is not suitable for high-speed motion capture... you get too much motion blur when recording arm swing and release. I need to be able to see hand positions during the down swing and release. The camera only does 29.9 fps, and I suspect I need to be able to shoot upwards of 60fps???

2. vizfxman macrumors regular

There have been a lot of rumors that the new firmware that's going to be released for the 5D Mark II will add 24fps and 60fps.

However, nobody seems to know when the firmware update will be made available.

...I know that's not much help for your immediate needs...

3. handsome pete macrumors 68000

The 5D Mark II will likely not get 60fps. It just got its major firmware update a couple of months ago.

The 7D and T2i both do 60fps, but for what you're looking for, you may need something that shoots in excess of 60fps.

Fisrt, try a higher shutter speed with your 5D. That will cut down on motion blur.

If you want to look into different cameras, check out the new Casio line that offers both high speed burst for stills as well as video frame rates of 120fps+ (at the expense of resolution however).

I think the real issue you may run into though is that any solution you find to either reduce motion blur or capture a higher frame rate will require more light. There's really no way around that.

4. vizfxman macrumors regular

That's too bad.

Well, at least they've added 24fps.