Camera recommendation for texture artists?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by phaedarus, May 30, 2011.

1. phaedarus macrumors regular

As a texture artist, I'm constantly searching for new material to photograph for use in my 3D work.

Lately however, I've been growing more frustrated with my old compact 5MP Leica due to the perspective camera distortion it introduces with every brick wall and fence I photograph. Consequently, a lot of time is spent correcting this in Photoshop.

I'm now in the market for a better solution that will help to either eliminate or drastically reduce the effect of lens distortion. Budget is around $600 or so.

Any recommendations?

2. Ruahrc macrumors 65816

I know at least some of the newer P&S cameras have software algorithms that correct for the geometric distortion given by the lens. You could check for that

Otherwise, a cheap old used DSLR and a prime lens might work too. The "classic" primes (like 50mm) typically have little to no meaningful distortion.

Might not be doable on your stated budget, but a DSLR + PC (perspective correction) lens might work better. Not necessarily for the PC aspect, but as those lenses were typically designed to do architectural photography, they have been deliberately engineered to have no geometric distortion.

Ruahrc

Edit: you are referring to geometric distortion (pincushion/barrel) and not perspective distortion (keystoning), correct?

3. phaedarus thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for the response.

Yes, I'm referring to barrel distortion where the image is bent along the edges of the photo like a sphere.

Are the perspective correction lenses the ones with the rectangular cap?

4. MattSepeta macrumors 65816

MattSepeta

You are looking for a Tilt / Shift (T/S) lens.

"http://macdanzigphotography.wordpress.com/2009/11/18/ts-e-17mm-lens-review-part-2/" provides some great examples.