Camera suggestion for 27" iMac?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by edtorious, Sep 30, 2010.

1. edtorious macrumors 65816

edtorious

I would like to take pictures and use it as a wallpaper for my 27" iMac and so the highest resolution is 2560 x 1440. My question is, is there a specific type of camera I should buy and use to get that high resolution? I'm thinking of getting the new Sony Nex but I'm not sure and I can only afford cameras less than $1,000. Sorry for the ignorance, I'm new to the digital photography and I just bought the 27" iMac and loving it! Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks. :eek:

2. mtbdudex macrumors 68000

mtbdudex

curious, how does the picts taken with your iPhone4 look now as wallpaper to you? It's 5.0 Mpixels (2592 x 1936) should meet your needs now.
    I'm trying to save you $$$, buying a camera for iMac 27" wallpaper usage....

3. jdavtz macrumors 6502a

Any digital camera with around 4 megapixels or more will provide enough resolution to fill your screen.

However, the number of megapixels advertised on a camera has very little relationship to the overall image quality. This is something that lots of people don't realize.

Do a bit of research online into the "best" rated and reviewed cameras that fit within your budget.

$1000 (assuming USD) will buy you a REALLY nice camera setup. You have a lot of choice available. Choose well!

4. allmIne macrumors 6502a

allmIne

Presumably OP doesn't just want the camera for wallpapers, lol.

OP, I bought the NEX-3. I've no real interest in becoming a photography buff, but it takes great photos, and is very simple to use. The interface might annoy you if you want to get more into photography, though.

5. edtorious thread starter macrumors 65816

edtorious

So if I want to take pictures that I'd like to use as wallpaper in my 27" iMac, what settings do you use in NEX-3 to get the 2560 x 1440 resolution:confused:

6. edtorious thread starter macrumors 65816