Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

PointMeAtTheSky

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 17, 2009
Hello,

I'm extremely new to Macs, and am not very adept technologically speaking, however, I am doing my best to help out a friend who recently purchased an iMac with video editing using Final Cut.
He asked me whether I could try and find out whether there existed a video camera that does not require converting.
His time is limited, and the arduous task of converting from .MOD to .DV and then from a .DV to a DVD format discourages him and takes fun away from his hobby.
Anyway. I figured that this forum may be a good place to start, since I don't really know what to look for.
So, to make a long question (relatively) short, is there a video camera on the market today that would require no file conversion in order to edit the video using Final Cut?
Thank you for your time.

-DH

macrumors 65816
Nov 28, 2006
Nashville Tennessee
Any footage, regardless of the recording format and medium, will require the data to be transferred to the Mac's hard drive for editing. And that takes time; real time in the case of tape, or faster than real time in the case of memory card or hard drive cameras. So there will always be time involved. And when your friend is finished editing, it will take time to author and burn a DVD.

Tell your friend to look through the list of Easy Setups in FCP. That will tell him what formats FCP works with natively - he'll want to choose a camera that records in one of those formats to save the most amount of time.

-DH

LethalWolfe

macrumors G3
Jan 11, 2002
Los Angeles
So, to make a long question (relatively) short, is there a video camera on the market today that would require no file conversion in order to edit the video using Final Cut?
Thank you for your time.