Camera+ VolumeSnap Workaround

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by critic81, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. critic81 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    For all you Camera+ owners who were bummed out by the latest version being rejected for having volumesnap in it, well there is a workaround that you can do to get volumesnap in the current released version

    Go to safari and in the URL field type this in minus the quotes, "camplus://enablevolumesnap" Hit go and you now have volumesnap enabled. Kinda crazy they left this in since they are making so much money off this app, now it will most likely be pulled.

    Oh well, enjoy

    Found on this site: http://j.mp/byPLFC
     
  2. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
  3. iMetalG5 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    #3
    +1 very nice! I don't understand what the big deal is using the volume button as a shutter release...
     
  4. SlavKO macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
  5. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #5
    would changing enable to disable change it back?
     
  6. critic81 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #6
    yes, check out the included link, that is where i found out about it.
     
  7. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #7
    it does work

    It doesn't add (at least in my phone) any menu selection to turn on or off - but the volume buttons (either one) now DO take a pic.

    thanks for posting
     
  8. hzeat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas
    #8

    nice. thank you!
     
  9. OrangeCuse44 macrumors 65816

    OrangeCuse44

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
  10. lechonlubber macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    #10
    Anyone else running Camera+ with the volume button hack above have an issue where it takes a picture, without touching anything, right after you click "Take photos"? I've restarted the app and the iPhone and it still does it.
     
  11. Frenchjay macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #12
    thanks alot I just got camera + today :D this is awesome!!
     
  12. UCLAKoolman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #13
    The bug happens when switching from lightbox back to the camera. The easiest workaround for the time being is to switch back to the camera using the camera icon on the bottom of the lightbox menu. Hope this helps.

    I love being able to take pictures with the volume buttons!
     
  13. Knowimagination macrumors 68000

    Knowimagination

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #14
    This is the one feature I was looking for! sometimes the on screen tap just isn't useful.

    the only problem I see will be potential for camera shake from the button press, but probably not a huge deal.
     
  14. cocky jeremy macrumors 68040

    cocky jeremy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #15
    Just tried it. Works perfectly. Sweet!! Thanks.
     
  15. Bear Hunter macrumors 6502a

    Bear Hunter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    #16
    Worked for me, but couldn't stand the bug associated with switching from lightbox to camera. Changing enable to disable did not work in safari and subsequently had to delete and reinstall the app.
     
  16. lechonlubber macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    #17

    Cool, that works for now. Thanks for the info. It is nice having the button to take the picture. Hope they figure out a fix soon.
     
  17. dZp macrumors 6502a

    dZp

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #18
    Worked here.
     
  18. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #19
    this is a very cool hack. saw this yesterday and did it right away. used the volume buttons today - so much easier and natural to take a photo!

    (mind you I haven't tried disabling it, but why would you want to?!)

    I was a bit disappointed when I hard that Apple rejected VolumeSnap, but they have to be consistent. still, I think it's only a matter of time until it is allowed... but this is great for the interim. :D
     
  19. threezero macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    #20
    becuz us iphone users are dumb, we might get confuse:confused::confused::confused:
     
  20. Frenchjay macrumors 68000

    Frenchjay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #21
    I think it offers more stability taking a photo because you don't have to touch the screen to take a shot.
     
  21. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #22
    People expect hardware button to be consistent. This isn't exclusive to the iphone.
     
  22. kas23 macrumors 603

    kas23

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #23
    So, when my alarm clock goes off in the morning, I can silence it by hitting one of the volume buttons or the sleep/wake button. OMG, how confusing! I thought these buttons did only one thing; volume and sleep/wakeApple has left me so confused now, I don't even who my iPhone is anymore!
     
  23. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #24
    Heh funny.

    It's not unreasonable to think someone might want to turn down some music while taking a pic. Turning an alarm off is more of a priority.
     
  24. OrangeCuse44 macrumors 65816

    OrangeCuse44

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #25
    I have this too
     

Share This Page