Can’t set video output to Dolby Vision 60hz?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Jamie0003, Sep 22, 2017.

  1. Jamie0003 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #1
    i don’t know why but I don’t have the option of selecting Dolby Vision in the Apple TV menu. It says it works with 30hz but not 60. Picture quality is full of clipping when I select this. I’m pretty sure my TV supports it (LG B6 OLED) and I’m using high speed with Ethernet cables.

    Anyone else having this issue? Also, why isn’t the Apple TV capable of playing hdr or Dolby Vision depending on the video source? You can only do one or the other
     
  2. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #2
    People have been beating this to death all over the internet. The LG 6 series OLED's don't do DV at 60Hz. Apple has decided to prioritize its own UI over any of the content you might be watching, so don't expect the device to switch refresh rates based upon content.
     
  3. benji888 macrumors 68000

    benji888

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    The clipping is likely your cable, sounds like you're using HDMI 1.4, you need HDMI 2.0a compatible cable for the ATV 4K, regardless of 30/60 Hz.

    "Check your HDMI cable
    4K video, especially HDR10 and Dolby Vision, requires an HDMI cable compatible with these formats. Apple recommends HDMI cables that have the Compatible Dolby Vision mark as they have been tested with Apple TV 4K and a wide range of televisions. An example is the Belkin Ultra High Speed HDMI Cable."

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208074


    EDIT: and the ATV does not do automatic switching between modes, you have to manually select one. So, when you are not playing DV content, you'll probably get better results with an HDR setting. Hopefully apple will address this.
     
  4. Jamie0003 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #4
    Really? Is that a software limitation or what? That really sucks because 30hz seems to be full of lag, but the dynamic range is better
    --- Post Merged, Sep 22, 2017 ---
    I’m pretty sure there’s no such thing as a Dolby Vision HDMI cable...high speed with Ethernet is the best you can buy right now
     
  5. xsmett macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    #5
    Put the ATV to 4k Dolby Vision 24HZ for movies. Its bad for scrolling through the interface, but good for watching movies and tv shows.
     
  6. benji888 macrumors 68000

    benji888

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    high speed with ethernet is only HDMI 1.4 spec
    you need HDMI 2.0a or better

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI#Version_2.0

    this cable will work: https://www.bestbuy.com/site/insignia-6-4k-ultra-hd-hdmi-cable-black/4127007.p?skuId=4127007

    this cable will work for 4K without HDR/DV: https://www.bestbuy.com/site/dynex-6-4k-ultra-hd-hdmi-cable-black/7525078.p?skuId=7525078

    It doesn't have to be certified for DV, but, it does have to be 2.0a spec or better which will state that is has HDR support or HDR pass thru.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 22, 2017 ---
    Could you take a pic of your available settings and post it? Everyone is saying it won't do 24.
     
  7. Jamie0003 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #7
    There’s no such thing as a hdmi 2.0 cable, nor one that is certified for Dolby Vision. The cables I have work with HDR and Dolby Vision just fine, but as another poster pointed out, my TV doesn’t support 60hz Dolby Vision
     
  8. benji888 macrumors 68000

    benji888

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #8
    Dude, you didn't read anything I posted, so why bother starting a thread if you are not going to listen to anyone?

    You said "...Picture quality is full of clipping when I select this...." that is because you are not using a cable capable of transmitting all of the signal. Go back to my last comment and read or delete this thread. Did I say it had to be DV certified? No I said it needs to be HDMI 2.0a spec, it has to state that on the package or HDR compatible.
     
  9. xsmett macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    #9
  10. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #10
    But the clipping can indeed be the result of cable issues. If you are playing at 60Hz with HDR (which should be the fall back if DV isn't avail) then clipping would mean your cable can't handle the bandwidth. There is a certification process for cables that can handle the high framerate 4k stuff. There are entire threads on AVS dedicated to finding cables that will work.

    I expect that many people will stumble on this since Apple is trying to run 60Hz.

    https://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/premiumcable/faq.aspx
     
  11. Spankey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #11
    Will Dolby Vision content play in HDR10 on ATV?
     
  12. Jamie0003 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #12
    I'm sorry, I actually realised that for some reason my TV had turned on the trumotion setting which really messes with the picture. Turning that off and setting the Apple TV to dolby vision 24hz it looks great, no clipping.
     
  13. cyb3rdud3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    It is for that reason I’ve cancelled my order. Such a stupid decision to have to manually switch modes in 2017.
     
  14. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #14
    It may be setting it to 24Hz that fixed the clipping. As you might imagine, if you have a cable that can't handle 4:2:2 @ 4K 60HZ with HDR, then it might work just fine as you dial back the settings.

    When the Oppo 203 launched, the UI that first loads was 4K@60Hz (with color details variable per display). A lot of people's gear couldn't handle that screen, the but they played the actual content at 24p just fine.
     
  15. xsmett macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    #15
    I totally can understand your decision.
    Don't know why, but I still have hopes that one day Apple is going add an automatic framereate switching option.
     
  16. cyb3rdud3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    So do I and I would buy one instantly :)
    --- Post Merged, Sep 22, 2017 ---
    Yes my Oppo 203 is just fine, and I like how it seamless switches the output depending on the source. Seeing my Dolby Vision logo or hdr logo pop up when my OLED is switching is reassuring opposed to have it on all the time.
     
  17. Seb2k macrumors newbie

    Seb2k

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    #17
    Just to correct you on this: HDMI 2.0a runs on 1.4 cabling, the key difference is simply the clock speed they are tested and validated at (600mhz vs 340mhz). A quality, well shielded 1.4 cable will typically do absolutely fine. I personally swear by original 1.4 High Speed specced PS4 HDMIs and have a fairly substantial collection of them (despite ironically not owning single console) and only ever found one that wouldn't merrily do 4K60 with 4:2:2 chroma.

    If you're getting errors through your cable, that's down to poor shielding that's not up to the task rather than any issue with how it's wired or such.

    Pricey HDMI cables that are 'certified' for HDR such as the first one you linked are snake oil IMHO.
     
  18. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #18
    Nope.
     
  19. brianrmurray macrumors member

    brianrmurray

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #19
    Hey all I ran into this problem on my Vizio P65-C1. Couldn’t get Dolby Vision 60Hz to work in 4K, only 30Hz and 24Hz. Contacted Vizio, they confirmed that it should work so I tried the 2nd High Speed HDMI I had (same exact one from Amazon) and it suddenly worked! Looks amazing now. Try a different HDMI cable if you’re having trouble!
     
  20. Spankey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #20
    Yep.

    If not HDR10 specifically it is taking the DV signal and passing it through the HDR output.
     
  21. cmChimera macrumors 68040

    cmChimera

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #21
    I have this exact same tv, but my issue is audio stuttering. Tried two different amazon cables. Going to try a suggestion made in the thread I made when I get back home.
     
  22. richpjr macrumors 68040

    richpjr

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    #22
    I also have the P65 and am getting DV at 60hz. Watched for a few hours tonight and it was great with no audio stuttering.
     
  23. cmChimera macrumors 68040

    cmChimera

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #23
    I have no idea what the issue is. 30hz works fine. Think you can PM me your settings and/or equipment?
     
  24. Tarheels23 macrumors member

    Tarheels23

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #24
    I have a LG B6 as well. So what's the best 4k SDR option for viewing non HDR/DV content like live sports on the PSVUE?

    4k SDR 60HZ?
     
  25. Jamie0003 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #25
    I’ve had issues with the 4:2:2 chroma setting, if I select it, the picture looks fine but the Apple TV seems to freeze until it switches the input back (as in I can’t select ok or cancel to accept the change) really strange.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 23, 2017 ---
    Apple really needs to address this. I think the reasoning is to stop your TV from changing input modes constantly, but if you try and play SDR content, it looks awful because it’s running one of those HDR processing modes.

    And if you’re trying to play a HDR 10 movie and you have the Apple TV set to Dolby Vision or vice versa, it doesn’t switch. I like that it runs the menus in HDR or Dolby Vision, it looks great, but I’m hoping at some point you’re given the option for auto switching on actual content
     

Share This Page

57 September 22, 2017